Cheddar Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Wow! I've never cooked chicken this juicy and delicious before! I made a few changes to this recipe. I used plain bread crumbs and added a generous teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I nixed the rice crispies - only because that's the only ingredient that I didn't have on hand. I decided against adding melted butter on top of the chicken (I figured there was enough fat already with the cheese). I also baked at 350 for 45 minutes - I've found that the trick to juicy baked boneless skinless chicken breasts is to bake them at exactly this temp and length of time. My husband (who is picky about food) actually said "wow" when he saw the finished product. He also specifically asked that I add this dish into my dinner rotation. Bravo! This was a HUGE hit! I served it with steamed brocolli, pineapple casserole (will post this recipe soon), and garlic parmesean biscuits (will post this recipe soon as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Wonderful! I did make a couple of changes to the original recipe though - 1)I used shredded asiago cheese instead of cheddar 2)I baked it for 45 minutes as suggested by others 3) I used Crispix cereal since that was all I had 4) I dredged the raw chicken thru sour cream before the flour mix 5) I didn't use butter on the bottom of the pan, but did over the tops and then added a little more topping. Turned out amazing... my whole family loved it. I served it with noodles and alfredo sauce, but it would be excellent with spaghetti and marinara too. We'll be having this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have already rated this recipe once before with 5 stars. I just wanted to say that I made it for 17 people when my fiancee' and I went to the beach with his family and my family. There were a few very picky eaters in the bunch but this recipe was a success with them. I cooked 24 pieces of the cheddar chicken for dinner one night and I think there were only 2 or 3 left over. They were very quickly warmed up and eaten for lunch the next day. This is one of the best chicken recipes I have ever used. I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This dish is great...the whole family loves it, and that is extremely rare! This time I added a teaspoon of onion powder to the flour mixture as well and it added just the right extra bit of flavor that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My boyfriend took one bite of this and said "5 stars all the way!". This was SO GOOD! Followed the recipe except I put the garlic powder, salt, and pepper directly on the chicken before dredging it in the flour. I also decided to skip putting all that butter in the bottom of the dish... just sprayed it liberally with nonstick cooking spray. Baked 35 minutes and then broiled it for 3-4 minutes to give it a nice crispy top. Served with mashed potatoes and garlic green beans for a very tasty meal! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I'm a poor college student, so I cut the recipe down and used only the garlic salt, cheese and crushed croutons for the breading, and it was great! It only takes a few minutes to prepare after work, too, so I can pop it in the oven and drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Excellent! This tasted wonderful!! The chicken was VERY moist. However, no need to use the full amount of butter at the bottom of the pan. Not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this chicken dish, along with herbed wild rice and fresh steamed greenbeans, in less than 45 minutes. Not only was it quick and simple to prepare (had most ingredients on hand anyway), but the chicken was delicious! It was juicy on the inside and crunchy on the outside - I did put the oven on broil for 2 minutes after the 35 minute cooking time was through just to get the tops a little more browned. It's also great as leftovers, heated up or sliced chilled and thrown into a salad. And it can be made into a lower fat dish just by substituting out the cheese for low-fat and cutting down on the butter a little or all together: spray the pan with Pam or grease lightly with olive oil, and omit the butter drizzle. Thanks for the new simple and versatile chicken dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
The only cereal I had on hand was Coco Pebbles and I didn't think those would taste too good, so I left out the cereal. Used Panko instead of regular dried bread crumbs and a mixture of dried herbs. I also used bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts (horrors!) and this came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I've made this recipe four times now and it turns out perfect every time. A meat thermometer is the best way to check the "done-ness" without cutting it open in the baking dish. NEVER USE FAT-FREE CHEDDAR CHEESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States