Cheddar-Bacon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paige Leigh-Anne Gibbs
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Tried it tonight and it was very good. I've been wanting to make some ever since Lays potato chips came out with bacon mac and cheese. That guy who though of that was a genius! The chips are great and so is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I have to agree that this was very very bland. There was no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
It was delicious! We cooked our own bacon and used a while block of cheese. It's definitely a heavy meal. We will cook it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was so good I couldnt resist having seconds!!!The only thing I did was I had put French fried onions on top as my son loves it on his mac and cheese...I will be making this again thats for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is so easy and tasty. I appreciated the fact that the bacon added nice flavor without overpowering the dish. I used a package of cheese ends I got at the deli which was a mish-mash of different cheeses instead of plain cheddar and it worked perfectly. I added all the cheese to the milk mixture and topped the casserole with buttered cracker crumbs as a personal preference. It was creamy and delicious. Added note: This is also a hit made with Johnsonville Breakfast Sausage instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was a HUGE hit at a party! I wanted to make something kid friendly,and this was perfect (the adults loved it too...they wound up using it as a chili topper). I had to adjust according to what I had on hand and the amount needed. Here's my alterations: used an entire box (probably about 2.5 or 3 cups) of Vegetable Elbo Macaroni...2 cups of flax milk and about a cup of cream (stirred in the flax milk first)...a litte over 2 bags (so over 4 cups) of shredded cheese (one cheddar, the other a mexican mix)...and about 8 pieces of thick bacon. I also had great wisconsin cheddar so I shredded that on top before popping in the oven. I'll definitely be making this again! Oh, whatever you do, do not skip the bacon. It's the key ingredient. If you do then add seasonings, especially salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made this for my daughter and she loved it so much that she requested we have it two nights in a row. I did add some bread crumbs to the top just before putting it in the oven which gave it a little extra flavor. Next time I will add some salt and pepper and a bit more cheese mixed in just for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was just so-so for me. As a matter of fact, everyone liked this EXCEPT me. Simply put, this was bland and too creamy for my liking. While I don't care for dry mac & cheese (it needs SOME sauce), I don't like overly saucy mac either. My second issue was with the sauce. It was a *tad* grainy (I'm the only one who noticed this tho...), but I attribute this mishap to cook's error. :) I apparently didn't allow my cheese to melt completely. NOTE: Although your cheese will "appear" to have melted initially, keep stirring (on low heat) for AT LEAST 5 minutes to ensure that it is velvety smooth. Adding a dusting of crushed garlic herb croutons and some reserved bacon added a little pizzazz and is what everyone liked most about this dish. If for nothing else, this was SUPER easy to throw together for our neighborhood cookout. Thanks anyways, Kraft! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a great mac and cheese recipe even without the bacon, my hubby asks for it all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used half and half instead of milk. And pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States