Cheddar-Bacon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great Mac and Cheese recipe! A word of advice though is don't leave out the bacon. It adds the amount of salt that you need for this to be as delicious as it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is so easy and tasty. I appreciated the fact that the bacon added nice flavor without overpowering the dish. I used a package of cheese ends I got at the deli which was a mish-mash of different cheeses instead of plain cheddar and it worked perfectly. I added all the cheese to the milk mixture and topped the casserole with buttered cracker crumbs as a personal preference. It was creamy and delicious. Added note: This is also a hit made with Johnsonville Breakfast Sausage instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Tasts even cheesyer if u use box mac and cheese and prepare it with the box cheese added with the cheese sause
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Oh gosh this was good! I used shell pasta in this. I tasted it before going into the baking dish and it was grainy (which is the problem I have ALL the time). After baking the graininess went away and it was perfectly creamy, cheesy and bacon-y! I did add a little panko on top before baking. So happy I tried this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We loved this with the addition of the bacon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My kids think that bacon should be its own food group, so they were all over this one. I even used turkey bacon, and they still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a great mac and cheese recipe even without the bacon, my hubby asks for it all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was a HUGE hit at a party! I wanted to make something kid friendly,and this was perfect (the adults loved it too...they wound up using it as a chili topper). I had to adjust according to what I had on hand and the amount needed. Here's my alterations: used an entire box (probably about 2.5 or 3 cups) of Vegetable Elbo Macaroni...2 cups of flax milk and about a cup of cream (stirred in the flax milk first)...a litte over 2 bags (so over 4 cups) of shredded cheese (one cheddar, the other a mexican mix)...and about 8 pieces of thick bacon. I also had great wisconsin cheddar so I shredded that on top before popping in the oven. I'll definitely be making this again! Oh, whatever you do, do not skip the bacon. It's the key ingredient. If you do then add seasonings, especially salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was so good I couldnt resist having seconds!!!The only thing I did was I had put French fried onions on top as my son loves it on his mac and cheese...I will be making this again thats for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was my first time making any type of baked Mac and Cheese, and it came out great. Rave reviews from the hubby and kids. The only changes I made to the recipe were: I used 2 cups of evaporated milk instead of regular, added salt & pepper as I was mixing the macaroni and mixture together. I spooned half of the macaroni into the casserole dish and then added a layer of shredded cheese before adding the rest of the macaroni. I topped it off with the layer of cheese as the recipe calls for, but also sprinkled some parmasean cheese and fine bread crumbs. I would NOT skip the bacon - it just took the dish to the next level (I even added extra!) Will make this again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States