Cheddar-Bacon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was my first time making any type of baked Mac and Cheese, and it came out great. Rave reviews from the hubby and kids. The only changes I made to the recipe were: I used 2 cups of evaporated milk instead of regular, added salt & pepper as I was mixing the macaroni and mixture together. I spooned half of the macaroni into the casserole dish and then added a layer of shredded cheese before adding the rest of the macaroni. I topped it off with the layer of cheese as the recipe calls for, but also sprinkled some parmasean cheese and fine bread crumbs. I would NOT skip the bacon - it just took the dish to the next level (I even added extra!) Will make this again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Mazzocca
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
not enough flavor, used extra sharp and ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
i liked it, way better then store bought cheese. it had a little bit flourie(sp?)texture, but i did see that i should have melted the cheese in the sauce instead of just mixing it in with the noodles. i used 2 spoons of extra butter because thats the way i always do my roo. Bacon was a great touch taste wise and gives it a splash of colour. i cheated and used bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oodles4noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It was pretty good the prep time is a little longer than 20 minutes, but its pretty good with the combination of the bacon and cheese the bacon gave all the flavor to this dish "using bacon is a must" , I added some mozarella cheese on top along with the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oodles4noodles
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a good recipe. Made it as written. Next time I think I will make more bechemal sauce and add more cheese to make it more creamy and moist. Also will add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Oh gosh this was good! I used shell pasta in this. I tasted it before going into the baking dish and it was grainy (which is the problem I have ALL the time). After baking the graininess went away and it was perfectly creamy, cheesy and bacon-y! I did add a little panko on top before baking. So happy I tried this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We loved this with the addition of the bacon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fast, easy, and simple flavors for kids. I'm glad I undercooked the pasta by a couple of minutes - it was a bit overdone after baking with all that sauce. I also seasoned with S & P as per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ste. Anne, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
verry good a good thanksgiving twist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Tasts even cheesyer if u use box mac and cheese and prepare it with the box cheese added with the cheese sause
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States