Cheddar Bacon Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe has good bones, but it really does need to be played around with. I used a cup of mayo and a cup of sour cream. Shredded my own cheddar and just added enough until it looked right. Everyone at our daughter's graduation party loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My entire family loves this recipe. I use a couple of chopped green onions instead of dried. Let this sit overnight for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I used a 3 oz package of real bacon bits instead of the lb. of bacon and had to use quite a bit more mayo. It turned out too "bacony," but several who taste-tested it for me liked it. I will also experiment with it by adding in a block of cream cheese and rolling it into a cheese ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I was very glad to find this recipe for my husband who loves cheese and bacon together. I altered this recipe a bit. It came out very well. 1/2 pound bacon 1/2 pound extra sharp cheddar cheese 2 Tablespoons sliced green onions 1 cup fat-free sour cream 2 teaspoons powdered garlic 1 teaspoon powdered onion 1 teaspoon ground black pepper I cooked the bacon very slowly to render as much fat as possible. I added the sliced green onions during the last few minutes of cooking the bacon to soften them a bit. I cubed the cheddar cheese. I put all the ingredients in the food processor and processed for several minutes, adding a few drops of milk to make a smooth paste. You could also substitute some of the sour cream or mayonnaise with soft tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This tastes great but I cannot get over the appearance. I really didn't know what to serve it with. Used real bacon bits and that seemed to work. In the end, I added some ranch dressing to thin it out. This would probably be a good recipe for Super Bowl or game night. It was quick to prepare and really tasted good with a glass of cab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
YYYYuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Quick! Easy! Great for holidays or snacks! I added 1/4c of ranch dressing for a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msop82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is great to serve if having a wine/dinner party! Also, you will get different textures with pre-shredded cheese or if you shred it yourself. I've made it both ways and I can't decide which way is best! Also, the minced onions are the predominant flavor, you may need to add more! I love garlic too, so I usually add more than a dash! Oh and served with bacon flavored crackers?? Nothing better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is excellent!!! I found that I needed to use quite a bit more mayo than the recipe called for, but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
this is the best dip i have ever made! yes, its rich and yes its filling but its so easy to make and definatley worth a taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States