Cheddar-Bacon-Asparagus Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
The three major food groups ~ bacon, asparagus, cheese ~ all baked together resulting in one delicious brunch recipe. Instead of steaming the asparagus, I simply cut into bite-sized pieces and sauteed it along with the onion and bell pepper, then mixed the cooled veg with the eggs and bread instead of layering. Baked covered for the first 30 min, then removed the foil for the remaining time. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Really easy and good! I added more spices such as hot pepper flakes and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FT Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was good and very simple to make. I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 Pyrex dish which worked very well. I had an abundance of leftover Easter ham, so I used that in place of the bacon. It's all pig, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I served it for Easter brunch. The taste and texture were great, but it wasn't as visually pleasing as I would like it to be, and it was a hard to serve because the asparagus spears made it hard to make neat cuts. Still worth it, though. Next time, I will take more time to cut the bread so it makes a precise top and use a super sharp knife to make neater serving pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very tasty! The only thing I changed was I left out the red pepper. Didn't really like the sound of it in there, and I'm glad I didn't add it. I brought it to a dinner party, and everyone really enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My family gobbled this up Christmas morning. A hard group to please all around; not one negative comment and barely a piece left for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wonderful. Served for guests and they all thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
While mine is definitely a custom version, I think that since I primarily stuck with the original recipe, that I can safely rate the original. Changes: halved the recipe; did not steam asparagus, but cut into pieces; used only five pieces meaty bacon; used EXTREMELY dry little under 1/2 of a baguette; used dijon-style mustard (not powered); used sharp cheddar, Mexican, and gouda cheeses; omitted red or green pepper; used part of a shallot; layered bread, asparagus, bacon, shallot, and cheese 2x; covered in foil and baked for an hour. Absolutely drool-worthy - so much so my husband took a photo of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States