Cheddar, Baby Leek and Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Great variation from the typical grilled cheese sandwich. Saute the leeks to cut down on the "onion" flavor of the leek and it's a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a super rich sandwich! All that yummy cheese, the buttered bread... wow! I love leeks, I love cheese, I love butter, I love bread. Bring them all together and it's almost TOO rich! Next time I'll add more tomato as a balancing agent, but this is a great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Yummy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I loved these. It's a great way to use leeks from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Much too rich, decrease the cheese and use less leaks for sure, sauteing the leaks in butter first helps soften them but it makes for an even richer sandwich with the addition of even more butter. I dont think ill make this again. My boyfriend liked it ok. We added turkey lunch meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I used fresh mozzarella instead of cheddar. The sandwich was rich and tasty. I shared the recipe with some of my co-workers that are observing lent and not eating meat on fridays. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
So rich and yummy! This will be just a once and a while sandwich for me but it is delicious and better be for all those calories! Did not find the leeks overpowering AT ALL! I used a wheat berry bread but that was my only change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Yum. This is delicious but also a very rich sandwich. Make sure you have an appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Fantastic update to the standard grilled cheese. Made this for lunch today, put on a little Tony Bennett Duets and was loving life! I sauteed the leeks as another reviewer suggested and this made a huge difference! I also used mozzerella instead of white cheddar and was very happy with the results. I will be sharing this one with my girlfriends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
these ARE wonderful, my husband and daughter enjoyed them too.. easy to make but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyelashy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States