Cheater's Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Well, this was just cheese and more cheese. I need a killer sauce, ample seasonings, and, some vegetables aside from a smattering of olives. I took the basic concept of this but made a nice and easy enchilada sauce using tomato paste, chili powder, corn flour, and spices. I filled half the tortillas with a smashed potato and turnip mixture, and the others with cheese, spinach, and mushrooms. Didn't use the sour cream. I have also thought about trying a lentil mash in place of the potato mixture. Next time I'll add some TVP (textured vegetable protein) for bulk. Top the casserole with just a scant handful of yellow cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful quick and easy recipe. I add about twice as many black olives, and I use the ones with jalapeno when I can find them. I have also done an extra layer of tortillas on the top with extra cheese to make it a thicker dish. This stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I think this recipe should be more appropriately named, "enchilada lasagna." Its not bad, but does not reheat well due to the sour cream and tortillas - the tortillas become mushy and slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Surprisingly tasty and full of authentic Mexican food taste. The cheese and sour cream mixture blends wells as it cooks to make a creamy filling. The recipe does leave out the final steps. You must sprinkle the remaining cheese and olives over the top layer of enchilada sauce. This is a good pot-luck dish, as it makes a large cassarole dish full and a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Duckett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I like using this recipe for a base. The original one is a little bland for my family's taste but it's great because you can add whatever your family likes to it. We add onions and whatever else we have or are in the mood for that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Awesome! I love easy dishes. I think it would be great with some shredded chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
this recipe was great, I also used the red sauce instead of green. It was fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
A great, quick recipe! I ate this with blue corn tortilla chips and it tasted exactly like a chili cheese dip my mom makes. I loved the crunchiness of the chips with the smooth, gooey cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Thought these were really good. I used wheat tortillas and I added cumin, red pepper and a touch of chili pepper to the sour cream/cheese mixture. This gave it a little kick. Be careful on how much sauce you use, but it does thicken up when you cook it. I cooked it about 5 min. longer than suggested, but do watch with the sour cream. Thought it was very good and next time I may add some beans, but again, as is was a hit (with a little spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States