Cheater's Apple Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It came out lovey but we found the instructions difficult to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very easy to make-6 is too many apples, I think 4 would be fine. I used raisins in place of butterscotch chips and almonds. Maybe that's why it wasn't too sweet. Would have liked it to be sweeter. But all around good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Ok, so was in a pinch for an Oktoberfest dessert last night. Made this wonderfully easy dessert and won FIRST place in the dessert contest!!! Yeah! Sadly didn't get a picture but looked beautiful! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Amazing! My first time making a strudel and was a complete success! My other half doesn't like apples so I made it with sliced strawberries and amazinggggg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Just Made this and KNEW I would love it so I made a double batch of the filling. I used chopped pecans since I didn't have almonds. Also-I guess my baking sheet wasn't long enough so I had a rectangle of dough left over. No sweat though-I made a mini one right along side the big one! The parchment paper helped me a lot when rolling it up as I think I let my puff pastry sheets get too warm. All in all-very good recipe. I put the rest of the filling in the freezer but I'm betting it won't stay there long! Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was amazing - it was gone in one day! The butterscotch chips is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clara
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This strudel is totally awesome. I made half of the amount. Sprinkled a bit of flour with my apples so that the juice will thicken while baking. I didn't have any chips or almonds unfortunately...Before baking, i spread some egg yolk on the surface of the strudel to give it a lovely brown. My bf loved it! Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I loved this quick and simple recipe. I forgot to put the sugar on the top of the strudel, so I made an almond glaze and drizzled that on top instead. It was a nice touch. ....Stir together 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, 1 T milk 1/2 tsp. almond extract . When partly cooled, drizzle on top of strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a good basic recipe for quick strudel. My family enjoyed it and it didn't take the whole day to make! I made the recipe as written but used caramel ice cream syrup instead of the butterscotch chips. Gives it a richer flavor and more even sweetness it also doesn't have lumps of chips if you serve it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Lost this recipe, many moons ago, which my family so enjoyed. Thanks for posting it... what a gift. This may be "Cheater's" Apple Strudel, but it tastes like Non-cheaters!. It's a fantastic, fast, easy, satisfying recipe to make and serve. Thanks again Melody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States