Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very very good. My husband says he doesn't like pot pie and yet he had two servings of this. I used fresh chicken, and crescent rolls (biscuits have trans fats). This was so easy and so good. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cykosis
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very easy to tweak to your family's liking, and excellent at that. Super easy recipe as is. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cykosis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Definitely a quick and easy recipe for a busy weeknight. I did use a larger can of chicken chunks, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I would suggest putting the dish on a cookie sheet, as mine bubbled over a bit. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a great dish that is very easy to make. I only cook for my husband, my one-year-old, and myself, so I basically halved the recipe, and made the following changes: I used three small to medium fresh chicken breasts (cut into bite-size pieces and seasoned with grill seasoning) instead of canned chicken. I cooked them fully prior to adding the veggies to the skillet. I used half a package of frozen mixed veggies and one can of soup. I left the milk at 1/2 cup. Instead of using canned refrigerated biscuits, I prepared biscuit dough with 1 1/4 cups of baking mix and 1/3 cup milk. I rolled this out to cover the mixture in an 8x8 baking dish. I brushed about 1 tablespoon of melted margarine on top of this and poked a couple of holes in it (as you would a pie crust.) It was very tasty and was just the right amount for two grown-ups, one toddler, and my husband's lunch box the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very easy. I followed advice from other reviews and used one can of 98% Fat Free Cream of Chicken and one can of 98% Fat Free Cream of Mushroom Soup. I stuck with the canned chicken as that was all I had on hand. I eliminated the butter and sprayed the bottom of the pan and tops of the biscuits with Olivio. Frozen vegs in the steam bags are the way to go. I didn't even have to put this on the stove to heat thru before it hit the oven! Definitely use your own combo of seasonings. I used pepper, poultry seasoning, lots of garlic podwer and dried, minced onion. Super quick meal! There was enough filling that I was able to make two casseroles! (I used a smaller dish too....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My biscuits didn't cook all the way through- even though they were browned on top. So, this ended up being a bit disappointing. I also think it needs another can of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I hate pot pie, and this is one of my favorite meals! It is SO delicious! My husband and I like to use canned corn and green beans and fresh broccoli in place of frozen veggies, but we've made it both ways and its delicious both ways! We've also tried it with all that plus cauliflower. And we found that a family size can of cream of chicken soup works better than 2 regular cans. Its fun to mix it up with different veggies and its very, VERY easy to make and even more delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was pretty good - I took the first reviewers advice and I liked it.. I ate almost the whole pot pie myself over a couple of days. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meljeffnkids
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent and sooo simple! I used regular cooked chicken breast and I also cooked the biscuits prior to baking the pie!! Will use this over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The basic recipe was very good. I made it this week and my wife and I enjoyed it. Will definately use this recipe again, with some changes. I used canned turkey instead of chicken. Our only complaint was that there was not enough turkey. Next time I would diffenately use two cans of turkey or cook some chicken and chop up. Will probably try some different flavors of soups ie. cream of mushroom, celery, potato and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States