Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just made this and it was great! I made a few changes after reading the comments: I used what was left of our Christmas turkey, and a can of mixed veggies instead of frozen + a can of corn (we really like veggies). 1 can of cream of chicken soup, plus about a cup each of leftover turkey gravy and some freshly made turkey stock, plus a little milk to make it creamy. Simmered the sauce for a little bit before adding the meat and veg, plus a few seasoning (salt & pepper, garlic Lowery's season salt, a little poultry seasoning). Followed the suggestion to split the biscuits and make a top and bottom layer. I had too much filling for the pan, but then not enough in the pie so we scooped some extra on. I think next time we'll just cook the biscuits separately and pour the filling over. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this for some friends and I was thinking 'comfort' type food. It was easy and a hit with adults and 4 young kids. There was nothing left. My only substitute was chicken and rice condensed soup instead of chicken because it was what I had in lower sodium. I also used a rotissere chicken like suggested in another review. My husband added a little shreaded cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Four stars as-is, Five stars with changes. It was really tasty! *I added oregano, thyme & rosemary. *I used 4 fresh chicken breasts. I wanted to feed 8 people, so I used a 9"x13" pan with extra veggies and it needed extra liquid. *I made a roux and added ~1 c. broth. Be sure to use low-sodium soups. *The biscuits needed to be cooked separately for 6 minutes. I then inverted them (cooked-side down) and finished on the dish as the recipe says. It turned out great! It might sound like a lot of changes, but they were all very easy and quick. I'll certainly make again. Thanks Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious! I used boiled & cubed chicken breasts with potatoes, celery, corn because it was what I had on hand and everyone loved it, even my super picky 5 year old son. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies anyone?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
great starter recipe! skipped the butter, used a ready made rotisserie chicked, shredded, healthy choice cream of mushroom soup, water instead milk -- healthier and still dee-lish! i added 1 medium-large cubed potato and a dash of garlic powder. oh, i also used crescent rounds rolled lightly out so the crust isn't so thick instead of biscuits -- lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made this for a second time since adding it to my recipe box. First time around, I made my own bisquick biscuits and baked them for a few minutes before adding to the top. This time, I used flaky canned biscuits, and added garlic salt, pepper, and onion powder with parsley. Fantastic! Had no problem with undercooked biscuits, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very creative way to make this yummy comfort food on a whim. I followed some suggestions and put some biscuits on the bottom and baked those first, and only used 1 can of soup. I cooked the veggies/chicken in a roux of butter, flour, chicken broth. I've made this a few times now and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very very good. My husband says he doesn't like pot pie and yet he had two servings of this. I used fresh chicken, and crescent rolls (biscuits have trans fats). This was so easy and so good. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cykosis
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very easy to tweak to your family's liking, and excellent at that. Super easy recipe as is. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cykosis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Definitely a quick and easy recipe for a busy weeknight. I did use a larger can of chicken chunks, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I would suggest putting the dish on a cookie sheet, as mine bubbled over a bit. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States