Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
After reading several reviews I made several changes to the original recipe. I boiled 2.5ish chicken breasts w/salt, pepper, and onion powder. Greased a 9 inch pie crust, pressed some biscuits into the bottom, and cooked for 15 minutes once the oven preheated. I think 10 minutes would be better next time. I then combined 2 T butter, 1.25 cups chicken broth, and some onion on the stovetop. Mixed in 4 teaspoons of flour. Added 1 cup each of carrots, frozen corn, and frozen peas and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Mixed it all together and let it cook...stirring frequently. I also added in some celery seed. After awhile I poured the mixture over the cooked biscuits. I took the rest of the biscuits (I used 2 7.5 ounce cans total) and flattened each one, placing each over the mixture. I had 2 biscuits left over, so I just ripped them into smaller pieces and placed them over the holes. Put in oven for 15 minutes (Pie dish started over flowing so I had to put it on my jellyroll pan, which doesn't fit in the oven...so last 8 minutes ish of cooking time the oven was ajar)...The verdict: Hubby and I both liked it. I think I will omit the biscuits on the bottom next time, though. And maybe I shouldn't flatten the biscuits...at least not so much. But, overall--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I changed it up a little based on what I had. I used 1 cup of broth to cook the veggies and chicken in. Then added 1 can cream of chicken and 1/3 cup milk. I added a little flour just to thicken. I separated the layers for the top of the pie and baked the rest of the biscuits to eat with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Ridiculously easy and very good. I could easily make two at a time to share with a friend! :) I did like putting layer of biscuits on the bottom too....all my kids wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very easy! and very delicious. Great quick dinner to make for my pretty large family. I made it even quicker by getting 3 baked chicken breasts from the deli at my super market. I also made it the way one reviewer suggested with 1 can cream of chx and 1 can cream of potato. and putting half the bisquits at bottom. It was amazing! all members of the family loved it, which is very rare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe was great for a quick meal. I did used real chicken instead of canned and added more seasoning including garlic, onion powder, parsley, and a little hot sauce. My 3 year old even asked for seconds! I did follow the advice of others and baked the bottom crust in the oven prior to placing the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
awesome ! We halved the biscuits and placed one layer on the bottom and cooked them for 10 minutes and then added the mixture and last half of the biscuits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a great pot pie recipe. My family loved it so much I'll need to double the recipe next time! I followed the advice of others and added some poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and additionally sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the mixture before placing the biscuits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe so much that I wrote it down on a recipe card and stuck it in my recipe binder - only the best recipes make it into my binder. :) I didn't have the canned biscuits on hand, so I made half of a biscuit recipe from another cook book. I also didn't measure the frozen veggies exactly - I had several bags of various frozen veggies in my freezer and a can of corn that I mixed together. A second can of chicken made it meatier and more savory. You won't be disappointed with this go-to dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this a few times now, and the best way that i have found is to buy a roasted chicken and use that. Then i also substituted the condensed soups for one can of cream of mushroom ready to serve kind. I also use the large crescent roll dough instead of the biscuits, i found that the biscuits just were too much bread. I layer the bottom with half (two pieces of dough for the crescent rolls) bake for about 10 mins, add the mixture from the pot, then top with the other two pieces of crescent roll dough and bake for another 15 mins. I didnt add the butter, but i thought with the premade dough you didnt need it! Hope this helps anyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I cheated even further. Instead of putting the mixture into a pie, I spooned it over rice. I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of celery. I added a little more milk, a small amount at a time, until the mixture thinned out a little bit. I added biscuits on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States