Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made this while on vacation for my brothers family and they decided that I am welcome to come back any time as long as I make this again. It was delicious! The only thing I changed is that I used leftover chicken instead of canned. Thanks for sharing this simple and satisfying recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this tonight and my husband and children really enjoyed it. I had to change the ingredients a bit, but it turned out just beautifully. Thank you so much for such a quick, easy, and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Was dryer than I like so I used a full can of milk. This worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pierson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
So tasty! Everyone ate it up. I used cooked chicken breast, not canned, and used one can cream of chicken and one cream of potato. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is similar to the way I've been making it for years. I add crushed rosemary, dried sage and basil. I also use a mashed potato crust on the bottom. I simply mash cooked potatoes without milk or butter, press them evenly into a glass 9" pie pan and bake 20 minutes at 400. There are many variations that can be used, I usually change it up a bit. It's a great winter dish that we have once per month when it gets cold out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My little sis made this for me once and I loved it but I did the same thing she did.....I picked up a roasted chicken at the deli, that has more flavor than canned chicken and since you only need half the chicken then I have more for chicken salad sandwiches or any other recipe. This is a quick easy tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Yummy! Only had one can of cream of chicken, so we replaced one with a can of cream of mushroom. Liked it so much, we'll keep it that way. Used pre-cooked chicken strips and threw in just a bit of garlic powder and some extra canned corn, to suit our taste. We will definitely be eating this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good and easy! I did make some adjustments, instead of canned chicken I used cooked chicken breast. Instead of 2 cans of chicken soup I replaced 1 can with cream of celery. I did have to add more salt than I would have liked b/c it tasted a little bland. I didn't have a deep dish pan so I just baked the flaky biscuits. To serve, I just split the biscuit in half and poured the mix in the middle! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gagirl08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
After reading several reviews I made several changes to the original recipe. I boiled 2.5ish chicken breasts w/salt, pepper, and onion powder. Greased a 9 inch pie crust, pressed some biscuits into the bottom, and cooked for 15 minutes once the oven preheated. I think 10 minutes would be better next time. I then combined 2 T butter, 1.25 cups chicken broth, and some onion on the stovetop. Mixed in 4 teaspoons of flour. Added 1 cup each of carrots, frozen corn, and frozen peas and 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Mixed it all together and let it cook...stirring frequently. I also added in some celery seed. After awhile I poured the mixture over the cooked biscuits. I took the rest of the biscuits (I used 2 7.5 ounce cans total) and flattened each one, placing each over the mixture. I had 2 biscuits left over, so I just ripped them into smaller pieces and placed them over the holes. Put in oven for 15 minutes (Pie dish started over flowing so I had to put it on my jellyroll pan, which doesn't fit in the oven...so last 8 minutes ish of cooking time the oven was ajar)...The verdict: Hubby and I both liked it. I think I will omit the biscuits on the bottom next time, though. And maybe I shouldn't flatten the biscuits...at least not so much. But, overall--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I changed it up a little based on what I had. I used 1 cup of broth to cook the veggies and chicken in. Then added 1 can cream of chicken and 1/3 cup milk. I added a little flour just to thicken. I separated the layers for the top of the pie and baked the rest of the biscuits to eat with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States