Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenz1205
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Ok so I made an upgrade: add the asking ingredients but if you happened to make potato soup the day before add that to filling and OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Hargrove
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hargrove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was quick and easy. I did alter it a bit. I used one can of chicken (12.5 oz), which was a little more than called for. I also made a bottom crust with flattened and stretched biscuits. I did the same for the top and cut butter slices over it. I think most of my ingredients were store brand (generic) and it still turned out great. I also added garlic powder. Next time I will use less or no salt and honey biscuits and rotisserie chicken, which were all mentioned above. Oh, I used canned vegetables instead of frozen. This is a hearty warm meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Korter Begorter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Loved it! I used pie crusts for the top and bottom crusts and cooked and shredded chicken tenderloins instead of canned chicken,everyone loved it! Salt and pepper to taste and yummy yummy! Have made several times now! Big hit here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Ison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I love the entire recipe. It was super easy and good. Instead of can chicken I went the semi easy route and bought some chicken breast pre-cooked and cut up in my local Kroger deli. I then used 2 cans of condensed soups (cream of celery and cream of chicken). I followed the directions on mixing all ingredients as stated. The only other thing I changed was I cut my biscuits in half and layered the bottom of my casserole dish (cooked em until slightly browned) and the remaining went on top. Couldn't have been better. Will be a regular staple for the cold months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shansmk72
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I did some adjustments too (we just can't leave a recipe alone, can we?) :-) Sprayed 9x13 pan then put one can of Grand's and pre-cooked them at 450° 10 mins (nothing worse than mushy biscuits) 3 TBS flour 3TBS butter. > made a roux 1 cup milk When thickened I added 2 cups cooked chicken, 1 can crm of potato soup, 1 can crm of chicken, 2 cups cooked green beans, 1 can corn (drained) add S &P, garlic powder & mixed well, then spread onto pre cooked biscuits, I like my pot pie cheesy, so I added some (6 slices) American cheese on top of the mixture then added one more can of Grand's and cooked at 400° for 15 more mins. Delish!! :) (I'm allergic to peas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My grand-kids loved this...I will definitely make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe turned out to be surprisingly tasty! My husband, who can be secretly picky, really enjoyed it! My one modification for the next time would be to cut down on the vegetables and add an extra can of chicken. I seasoned the "filling" with salt, pepper and about a teaspoon of sugar to cut a bit of the saltiness. And I find the best chicken pot pie I've eaten had a mildly sweet component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari_baez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I chose this recipe because I had 2 large chicken breast that needed to be used. I had a bag of frozen mixed vegetables but no pie crust, so I remember reading somewhere that someone mentioned Bisquick as a topper but I did not have any. I did have a can of regular butter biscuits (not the layered kind) so I gave it a try. I also decided to add an onion when I cooked the chicken. I then added the mixed vegetables, 2 cans of soup (one cream of chicken and one cream of celery) and milk. I also thought it was slightly bland so I added pepper, garlic powder and a teaspoon of worstershire sauce. The flavor was great! I rolled out the canned butter biscuits extremely thin and placed them on top. I did not put any biscuits on the bottom. I really liked the flavor of the filling, but I did not care for the biscuits on the top. The pot pie was not dry at all. I will make this recipe again, but I will not use canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family loved this. Only thing I did differently was use home made drop biscuits. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLynch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States