Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KCHOSKINS
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
With a few changes, this was a 5 star pot pie! I consider us to be "Pot Pie Connesours" as it is my husband's favorite food. He jokes that we have never had the same recipe twice! He will have this one again! My modifications were: One can of soup, one can of broth (made a roux with some of the butter and couple tsp flour and the broth) and cooked the veggies in that. I then added the chicken and cream of soup. After pressing the biscuits down on the bottom layer, I baked those for about 10 min at 450 degrees (but could have used 5 more min) so they wouldn't be soggy. Then the filling, then the rest of the biscuits. I forgot the butter until it came out of the oven, but I brushed it on then and looked, smelled, and tasted wonderful (check out my picture of the pot pie). Great, fast pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Even with all these adjustments this recipe was still very fast and easy. Even though I used reduced fat soups and milk this still came out rich and creamy, but healthy!! Everyone in my family loved it, which is saying alot, they all have very diffent tastes. I will definitly be making this again. Here are the adjustments I made: I used 2 soft ready pie crusts instead of biscuits. I cooked the bottom crust in the heating oven while I prepared the filling. I used 98% fat free cream of chicken soup and 98% fat free cream of celery. I also used 1% milk. I used three bnlss/sknlss chiken breast halves broiled for 5min per side (I just couldn't bring myself to use canned meat, it has no taste, and the texture leaves much to be desired). like I said this is still very fast, add maybe an extra 10 min to broil the chicken. Still very rich with the lowfat ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Like most, I found this to be the perfect starter recipe. After reading the previous reviews, I made the following tweaks: For the chicken, I used two chicken breasts boiled with salt, pepper, and garlic powder (brought to boil, then turned off heat and allowed to cool in pan before cubing). I used one can Healthy Request Cream of Chicken and one of Cream of Potato. I used half the biscuits to line the bottom of my casserole dish and baked for 15 minutes before adding the filling. As a personal preference, I added two diced hard-boiled eggs to the filling just before pouring into the casserole dish, which makes the sauce rich, creamy and flavorful. When done, this cheater recipe beat the pants off my neighbor's "from scratch" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
My husband's aunts had come down to visit our new home for the 1st time and I was looking for a simple recipe to use up the last refrigerator biscuit roll I had. I also happened to have leftover chicken from a supermarket rotisserie chicken I had picked up two nights before. Well let me tell you - this hit the spot! Everyone LOVED it! I used 1 cream of chicken soup and 1 cream of celery. I also separated the biscuits (Grands)and made a layer on the bottom and a thin layer on the top. YUM! The only thing I would change next time (and thus the 4 stars only) would be to use low sodium soups. The flavor was fabulous, but salty. Oh....and I also added savory, marjoram, and some onion powder for flavor. Also just lightly used butter-flavored PAM instead of melted butter to spray the pan and top of the biscuits. Definitely a welcome addition to my dinner menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Just fantastic, and so simple to make. I did use a deep dish pie crust for the bottom, but used Grand biscuits for the top (separated in half so they weren't too thick on top - they were just right). Used a rotissieri chicken, and put in chunky cooked fresh carrots, celery, onion, and peas (the peas were previously frozen). Used 2 cans healthy choice cream of chicken soup and skim milk. Garlic and poultry seasoning, salt and pepper. My whole gang loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I used real chicken, not canned. Really yummy. I also made individual pies in small pyrex dishes each with biscuit tops and bottoms -- the kids loved them, so did my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Very good flavor. I left the middle open, no biscuit and found the other biscuits baked more evenly, with no doughy damp spots. Added 2-3 stalks celery thinly sliced and used chicken fingers sauteed with a little oil and poultry seasoning instead of canned chicken. Have also tried with a can of diced potatoes, frozen peas, pearl onions, and mushrooms to good effect. Good family dish on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was very good. I changed the recipe a bit by using fresh chicken breast and used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of potato soup. I would no recommend using the "gand" type of biscuit. They cooked on the top but did not cook all the way through, even after baking a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was very yummy! I also used chicken breasts that I cooked up myself. I didn't have any refrigerator biscuits, so I used refrigerator crescent rolls. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. This really added to the flavor, and made this one to keep. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is great. Very simple and fast. I doctored it up a bit. I had leftover turkey gravy and added it to the soup. Also, my muffins browned on top but not on bottom so I turned them over half way through the baking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States