Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Just ok, reminds me of the food available at cafeteria style restaurants. An inexpensive yet filling dish with generic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My husband, who hates pot pie, loved this! BUT, the biscuits never seem to cook all the way on these types of things so I made croissants on the side and had those with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren11
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
After Thanksgiving I wanted something quick and easy to make with the leftover turkey. This recipe was the winner. I used about 1 cup of turkey as opposed to chicken and instead of frozen vegetables, I used can green beans (since I had no peas) creamed corn (since we didn't have regular corn) baby carrots and mushrooms. I opted to cook everything in the sauce pan and added 1 can of creamed chicken (since I used a can of creamed corn) as well as milk to get the desired consistancy. For the pie portion of this recipe, I rolled out a defrosted frozen pie crust (A leftover, since its mate was used in a pie the night before), cut shapes with cookie cutters and baked in the oven per package directions to make pie crust cookies to serve on top of the pot pie. Definitly a cheater pot pie. I must say. I enjoyed the slight sweetness the creamed corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Instead of refrigerated biscuits, I used Bisquick for the biscuits. Tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a good recipe. Simple to make and very tasty. I used premade pie crusts instead of the biscuits. I added poultry seasoning, a dash of dried onions and fine diced celery to the veggie/chicken mix. I used cream of chx and cream of celery soup - use the low sodium versions otherwise it's very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
For our family this was just ok, I think the bread texture for us was a bit too much. I used a roasted chicken from the store and added a bit of canned milk with 2 percent milk which added thickness and made the filling richer. I had no problem with it being runny.The filling itself was good with a little tweaking of spices we enjoy. I will try adding this a flaky pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Huge hit with my French husband. I turned the oven down to 375 bc I didn't want burnt biscuits raw on the inside so it took longer but cooked all the way through. Used fresh roasted chicken, fresh veggies and organic cream of chicken soup. Could have used more water, it was a little salty. I thickened the mixture before it went into the oven with flour and butter or it would have been too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
great recipe i added some cornstarch to thicken it and baked the bottom biscuits for a few mins to light brown so they wouldnt get soggy, i used 6 chicken tenderloins and boiled them with carrots & onion & chicken stock then added 1 can cream of chicken & 1 can cream of celery and made 2 small dishes instead of 1 big one. it was great! warm & cozy and filling. a great way to stretch your food budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Not fantastic, but good. I will only make again with alterations. The soup/sauce was kind of blah. I much prefer a more gravy-like sauce. Three stars mainly for ease and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious...I cooked my own chicken breast and seasoned it with poultry seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I also chopped a little onion and sauteed it with the veggies. Will definitely be putting on my regular rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States