Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Loved it! I used pie crusts for the top and bottom crusts and cooked and shredded chicken tenderloins instead of canned chicken,everyone loved it! Salt and pepper to taste and yummy yummy! Have made several times now! Big hit here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Ison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I love the entire recipe. It was super easy and good. Instead of can chicken I went the semi easy route and bought some chicken breast pre-cooked and cut up in my local Kroger deli. I then used 2 cans of condensed soups (cream of celery and cream of chicken). I followed the directions on mixing all ingredients as stated. The only other thing I changed was I cut my biscuits in half and layered the bottom of my casserole dish (cooked em until slightly browned) and the remaining went on top. Couldn't have been better. Will be a regular staple for the cold months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shansmk72
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I did some adjustments too (we just can't leave a recipe alone, can we?) :-) Sprayed 9x13 pan then put one can of Grand's and pre-cooked them at 450° 10 mins (nothing worse than mushy biscuits) 3 TBS flour 3TBS butter. > made a roux 1 cup milk When thickened I added 2 cups cooked chicken, 1 can crm of potato soup, 1 can crm of chicken, 2 cups cooked green beans, 1 can corn (drained) add S &P, garlic powder & mixed well, then spread onto pre cooked biscuits, I like my pot pie cheesy, so I added some (6 slices) American cheese on top of the mixture then added one more can of Grand's and cooked at 400° for 15 more mins. Delish!! :) (I'm allergic to peas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My grand-kids loved this...I will definitely make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe turned out to be surprisingly tasty! My husband, who can be secretly picky, really enjoyed it! My one modification for the next time would be to cut down on the vegetables and add an extra can of chicken. I seasoned the "filling" with salt, pepper and about a teaspoon of sugar to cut a bit of the saltiness. And I find the best chicken pot pie I've eaten had a mildly sweet component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari_baez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I chose this recipe because I had 2 large chicken breast that needed to be used. I had a bag of frozen mixed vegetables but no pie crust, so I remember reading somewhere that someone mentioned Bisquick as a topper but I did not have any. I did have a can of regular butter biscuits (not the layered kind) so I gave it a try. I also decided to add an onion when I cooked the chicken. I then added the mixed vegetables, 2 cans of soup (one cream of chicken and one cream of celery) and milk. I also thought it was slightly bland so I added pepper, garlic powder and a teaspoon of worstershire sauce. The flavor was great! I rolled out the canned butter biscuits extremely thin and placed them on top. I did not put any biscuits on the bottom. I really liked the flavor of the filling, but I did not care for the biscuits on the top. The pot pie was not dry at all. I will make this recipe again, but I will not use canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family loved this. Only thing I did differently was use home made drop biscuits. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLynch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good and easy. I used leftover rotisserie chicken and crescent rolls. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is my recipe in a nutshell with the exception, I use filo pastry instead of biscuits. cook the chicken and sauce together in a pot, when its nearly ready pop the pastry in the oven, plate the chicken and then put a slice of flaky pastry on top. Its awesome and just as quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I tried what others did and used a half biscuit layer on bottom and top but that was too much biscuit. I also had to use two pie pans. Next time I will use a large baking pan and only put a biscuit layer on top. I'll also add some garlic because even though I used chicken soup with herbs, it was a little bland. Good starter recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States