Cheater Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I really like this syrup. I've been making it for over a year now. I made it the first time because I was making pancakes and realized I was out of syrup. My kids loved it so I haven't bought syrup since! I store it in an old Mrs. Butterworths bottle in the fridge. Sometimes it crystalizes a bit but with 3 kids the syrup is usually eaten up before it's an issue. I found natural maple extract/flavoring that I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a great basic recipe. And you can use pretty much any extract that goes well with vanilla, too. I used lemon in place of maple. It was terrific with a nice light flavor. I bet almond would be great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I've been seeking out DIY recipes to replace products we normally purchase at an inflated price with artificial ingredients, so in that regard, this recipe foots the bill. However, it was WAY sweet! I mean, it's syrup, so, duh, but WAY WAY WAY sweet, lol. It was good, but next time I will attempt with 1c white sugar and 1.5c water just to see what happens. At the very least, I can boil longer to achieve greater thickness and evap some water. I added homemade pure vanilla extract, 1/2 stick cinnamon (while cooking), and a couple tbs real maple syrup for flavor (didn't have any extract).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZBERISWRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didnt use any maple extract though, only vanilla extract and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I will never buy maple syrup again. This is so easy and fast to make. I didn't have maple extract, so I used butter extract in it's place. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
this thickened quickly and did not pour easily after its first use. Probably will not nake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of syrup in general, but my husband LOVES it. I made this recipe because it's similar to the one his mom uses. I reduced the sugar to a half cup white sugar, and a half cup brown, and it turned out great. Even sweet enough for his sweet tooth. I also used a tsp. of each the vanilla and maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Don't kid yourself! If you enjoy pure sugar then you will probably like this recipe....of course since it is so so so so so sweet my four year old though he was eating candy. Even though it tasted fine we probably would have been better dumping sugar on his waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We all loved the recipe even the kids. I did not have any maple therefore I did without it and the recipe still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This so simple and very tasty. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States