Cheater Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This recipe turned out to be a life saver since I was down to a 1/4 cup of syrup. I did adjust the sugar to 1 1/2 white and 3/4 cup brown. I only had vanilla and I boiled it 8-10 minutes, stirring often, to thicken it. I then added it to my leftover syrup and no one noticed! Then I got brave and made more and added it. Still no one noticed the difference! What an inexpensive and quick alternative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I did 2 c of sucanat sugar and 1 !/2 c of water and boiled it together. Added a splash of maple syrup for flavor at the end. Much better, not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very runny, way to sugary and a funny tast. I amd looking for something thicker and not so sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a quick and fast recipe. I didn't have the maple extract so I used almond extract in its place. I liked the flavor better than the store bought syrup. I stored it in an old syrup bottle to reuse later. I picked 4 stars instead of 5 because I would have liked it better if it was a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe (although easy to make) is way too sweet. I prefer natural maple strup over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a good recipe. I would suggest to people if you like the Butter Pecan at IHOP then add 1/2 t. rum extract along with the maple and vanilla extracts. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Didn't feel like going to the store to get syrup on a rainy Sunday morning and made this one instead. Did not have maple exctract but it was still very good. My husband and son loved it as they have a sweet tooth. It was a bit sweet for me but still very good. Easy, fast and less expensive than store bought. Addendum 1/19. I am storing it in the fridge in a glass jar with lid and so far it has not crystallized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Oh my gosh, I never thought it could taste as good or better than the store bought syrup. I was wrong. My boys & I love our pancakes soaked in syrup, so this was a hesitant experiment. It passed with flying colors. Now the next test is how well it lasts until next week or longer in the fridge. I put it in the empty store bought syrup container. I used 1 cup white & 1 cup brown & followed the rest of the recipe exact...and yes, we do have maple flavoring in our house. If this stores long in the refrigerator well, I will double the batch to fill the syrup bottle to the rim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pilz Leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this with 1 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar. I had no maple extract and I put in only 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The first day, I found the vanilla a little overpowering and wondered if it is really necessary. The second day, the flavours had meshed and it was amazing. The fate of the vanilla in this recipe was saved. However, I agree with France (from Quebec) that this is good enough to fool most -- (I'm from Ontario so it would fool me) *wink, wink* -- Possible crystalization concerned me, but I was prepared to re-heat the syrup to liquify the sugar again; however, I put it in an old syrup bottle and -- No Problem! -- The container must be airtight! Those who thought it was too sweet probably have never had pure maple syrup extracted from Maple Tree sap. It is sooooo sweet that it makes your teeth hurt. (They make little candies out of it so the four year old who thought it was candy paid this recipe the highest compliment!). If you want it thicker, add a little more brown sugar. For an Ontario "girl" who likes the price, this is AMAZING! No more buying syrup for me! Thanks Leetah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Magnificent. Didn't have any Maple extract on hand so I just used the Vanilla extract like a lot of other had and it turned out wonderfully. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States