Cheater Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I tried and failed, it started to separate so I made the mistake of cooking it longer! :( I have a hard candy like substance on my pancakes lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was pretty good. Was in a pinch and ran out of store bought syrup. This did the job. No complaints from the kids. Yes, it's sweet, but it's sugar and water...going to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yes we were out of maple syrup and making pancakes, so this recipe saved me a trip to the store!! I used vanilla but did not have any maple flavoring, so instead, at the advice of my husband I tried just a few drops of almond extract and the result was delightful!! I also added about 1 Tablespoon of corn syrup to prevent the syrup from crystalizing (a trick I learned from watching Good Eats with Alton Brown)and so far it is working!!! Will definitely be keeping this amended recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't usually eat pancakes, but my family loves them. I like real maple syrup for them so they don't get corn syrup from regular pancake syrup. I tweaked this recipe by using 1 cup sucanat and 1 cup demerara sugar. My husband said it could use more maple flavor, but I thought it was great just the way it was. I would recommend this recipe for anyone in a pinch who doesn't have syrup on-hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Even though it crystalized, I am still giving it 5 stars based on the flavor. I added some butter flavoring to it as well and MAN OH MAN, this was soo good! This was the only change I made. Serve it HOT over some freshly made pancakes and you will have the best pancake breakfast ever! Serving it hot makes a BIG difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So easy and yummy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Family didn't like the way it solidifies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this recipe and we liked it a lot my husband said why don't you just make this and not buy syrup? So from now on this is the new syrup. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We added Lemon Extract instead of vanilla and maple as we were cooking with it. We also decided to boil it for a couple of more minutes to have a thicker syrup. Thanks for the recipe; no more need to buy syrup at the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Tastes delicious. Super easy to make. My 5.year old said that it tastes better than the store bought brand. No preservatives . Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States