Cheapskate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is actually better on day 2. I expected more flavor after all the great reviews. Kids and husband loved it and polished off the leftovers. Very fresh alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I liked it more than my 13 year old. I used leftover green/yellow peppers instead of mixed veggies. I more than doubled the use of Italian spice & would recommend it. Very filling and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I made this the other night and it was good but needs more flavor and next time instead of water I'm going to add extra tomato sauce. Other than that it was a hit & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This will be a regular in our house! I received this in an email and the amusing name prompted me to open it. I had several ingredients in the fridge (a couple were about to get tossed). I keep cooked hamburger in the freezer in 1-cup baggies. I used 2 for this recipe. I simmered the onions, celery, and carrots in the water until the carrots were done, then added the cooked hamburger. I followed everything else to a T, except my pasta was whole wheat rotini (it's prettier). This recipe will be my excuse to start saving the 1/2 serving of leftover vegies from other meals in a tub in the freezer. This time I used all the partial bags that had accumulated in the back of the freezer. :-) I think corn should always be included for the little burst of sweetness it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Tastes really good w/ cheese!!! We have a similar recipe but use cheese inside and call it MORE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Vickers Gerbine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was a great recipe for using things I already had on hand and my family seemed to enjoy it although I thought it was a little bland. Might add a little more seasoning and/or garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
It was quite good until I added the pasta. It seemed that the pasta absorbed alot of the liquid even though it was pre-cooked. I will try this again but without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Made this with a large can of V-8 juice instead of water and tomato sauce. Also didn't use celery and fresh carrots, only the frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Healthy comfort food? It's almost too good to be true! I used fresh zucchini, mushrooms and frozen peas instead of a bag of frozen veggies. I also skipped the celery because we don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is the ARO Restaurant in Sundance, Wyoming, I found this recipe while browsing and we were all suprised on how well it sold. Thank you for submitting this recipe. You are acknowleged for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States