Cheapskate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is the ARO Restaurant in Sundance, Wyoming, I found this recipe while browsing and we were all suprised on how well it sold. Thank you for submitting this recipe. You are acknowleged for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundance, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I really liked this quick meal. I left out the carrots so it was fast and used wide egg noodles instead of elbow. I also used more sauce and less water so it was kinda like a stew, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is a very yummy recipe, but I'm not sure how much it reminds me of a stew. It's like a stew/chilli/hamburger helper/soup, type of thing. Very good and easy though. I left out the celery because I didn't have any. For the vegetables I used a 1/2 cup of canned diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup of frozen corn, 1/2 cup frozen green beans, and a 1/2 cup of frozen peas. Used shell noodles instead of macaroni and kept everything else about the recipe the same. Husband really liked it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I just started looking at this web-site, this was the first recipe I used & it was a HIT! My husband did not leave any leftovers and even DEMANDED I make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I thought this was very good, and very easy to make. I too added some garlic. Only problem was I used Italian style mixed veggies, and they are pretty large cuts, they took alittle longer to get tender, next time I would cook them a little while in the micowave before adding to the stew. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Made this with a large can of V-8 juice instead of water and tomato sauce. Also didn't use celery and fresh carrots, only the frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My family loved it - more than I did! I did as others mentioned and added more italian seasoning as well as some garlic powder. I had no frozen veggies so used fresh green beans, along with the carrots, celery and onion. I also added more pasta to make it more of a meal, instead of a stew. I say 4 stars, my family says 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. I had no elbow macaroni so I used seashell macaroni. We all loved it including my 5 yr. old grand daughter, who is very picky about food. She called it Seashell Stew. It was great for a cold winters night in Ohio too! Thanks! Carole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Made this last night - was VERY easy and yummy. I didn't have any celery on hand, so I just skipped it. Added some extra seasoning... garlic powder and Tony's. Instead of noodles, I added some extra tomato sauce, water and minute rice. We really enjoyed it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I love this recipe. My Aunt used to make this when I was younger. It makes a great comfort food and is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States