Cheapskate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I love this recipe. My Aunt used to make this when I was younger. It makes a great comfort food and is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I made this with fresh vegies as I didn't have frozen and I left out the celery. It was nice and thick. Good flavor. I paired it with fresh baked bread. My kids loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is a very yummy recipe, but I'm not sure how much it reminds me of a stew. It's like a stew/chilli/hamburger helper/soup, type of thing. Very good and easy though. I left out the celery because I didn't have any. For the vegetables I used a 1/2 cup of canned diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup of frozen corn, 1/2 cup frozen green beans, and a 1/2 cup of frozen peas. Used shell noodles instead of macaroni and kept everything else about the recipe the same. Husband really liked it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My family loved it - more than I did! I did as others mentioned and added more italian seasoning as well as some garlic powder. I had no frozen veggies so used fresh green beans, along with the carrots, celery and onion. I also added more pasta to make it more of a meal, instead of a stew. I say 4 stars, my family says 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Tonight, I'm making this for the second time. I leave out the carrots. I used canned veggies instead. Super duper fast and filling! My whole family liked it better than my other "quick" dishes.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS OKAY. IT WAS VERY BLAND. I ADDED HOT SAUCE, EXTRA SEASONING AND ALOT OF SALT TO GIVE IT IN FLAVOR. IT WAS QUICK AND EASY SO I MIGHT MAKE IT IN AGAIN IF IM IN A HURRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Good recipe and a hearty meal! Next time I would add a little more seasoning, but I will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I really liked this quick meal. I left out the carrots so it was fast and used wide egg noodles instead of elbow. I also used more sauce and less water so it was kinda like a stew, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
A hearty and filling stew. Nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Made this last night - was VERY easy and yummy. I didn't have any celery on hand, so I just skipped it. Added some extra seasoning... garlic powder and Tony's. Instead of noodles, I added some extra tomato sauce, water and minute rice. We really enjoyed it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States