Che Guevara's Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this for a Bachelorette Party and for those that tried it, it got great reviews. I thought it was very good and nice to look at too! I followed the recipe almost exactly as stated. Except, living in Alaska, we are blessed to have an abundance of beautiful Halibut fillets. So, I cut that into about 1/2 squares, drained off the extra juice (to reduce any fishey-ness), then covered in FRESH limes as stated. Next time, I would reserve some of the lime zest to add to the tomato-mixture. I also might try adding some clamato. Lots of cilantro and kosher salt adds a nice flavor to this recipe. I was afraid the avocado might not hold up, but, on the contrary it made the juice a nice creamy texture and didn't turn color! Served with tortilla chips and Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
made it twice, but wasnt really what i wanted, too lemony . followed the recipe to the dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is one of those dishes that is out of this world. Delicious as delicious can get. I like it soupy so I add Clamato juice as a bonus for flavor and serve in margarita glasses. I substitue diced radishes instead of celery, excellen-te!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyndsay
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Yum. Very lime-y but just enough fish-y. The local fish market guy recommended grouper since they didn't have orange roughy and it was awesome. I left out the avocado to avoid the fat, but did add tiny salad shrimp (the kind that come in a bag frozen). Essentially, this is pico de gallo, so I left that out as well. Marinated the fish overnight (about 20 hours), then added the rest of the ingredients and let sit for about 3 more hours. I think it tasted fine and I didn't notice a difference between the 3 hours and the leftovers the next day. I don't know how this could possibly be 4 servings. We made this as an appetizer and it fed 6 people, with 4 servings left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
My first attempt at Ceviche and boy was it a HIT! I added cucumber, scallops and a jalepeno and used red snapper for the fish. I served it in a martini glass with a lime garnish and it looked as good as it tasted. Made a lot, but that was a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Absolutely brilliant - I used fresh sea bass, but swapped the green onions for red (couldn't find green onions anywhere, sadly), and also omitted the celery. I've never had ceviche before, and I was really pleased bu the way it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Very good! You may want to drain some (or all) of the lime juice after marinating the fish if you don't want this to be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I served this dish to my inlaws and it was a huge hit! I used fresh tilapia and it turned out wonderful; served with tortilla chips. Not only was it delicious and refreshing, but it is also beautiful and full of color! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was beautiful and full of color. I never had Ceviche before and found it to be too tangy for my taste. My husband, on the other hand, loved it and ate it all up. He finished the leftovers by putting them on top of pasta the next day. I omitted the shrimp and used two fillets of Orange Roughy. Overall, it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My husband went fishing on Sunday and brought back a ton of Mahi so that's what I used. I didn't have green onions, shrimp or celery so I omitted it and it was still great. I love ceviche and now I have a good recipe to make myself at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States