Chayote and Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Was looking for a chayote recipe when I found this. What a fabulous dish!!! Highly recommended! Would increase the sweet Italian sausage (I used 2 pkgs & cut each link into 4 pieces), and maybe add one more chayote. Didn't have jalapenos and don't really like it too hot or spicy so substituted 6-8 individual red pepper flakes instead and was absolutely delighted at the taste and how the "heat" came up pleasantly as an afterthought! Great use of chayotes!! The tomatoe-chayote-corn mix with the thyme was unique - really good! I was also more liberal with the thyme (covered the top of the mixture, then stirred in). WOW - Yummy good!! Will make again real soon. And it tastes even better as leftovers! Letting it sit in the fridge just kept the flavors blending! Bon Apatite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this tonight and we really liked it! I only used one jalapeno and added a little bit of chicken broth along with the tomatoes, beans and corn. Instead of serving it with rice, I spooned it over some Yukon Gold fingerling potatoes. I will make it again, next time I have a chayote on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe for using the Chayote squash, which I had never tried before. The stew was great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great Chayote recipe! Perfect for a chilly autumn night. I substituted chorizo (for italian sausage) and used 1 small can chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Nice and spicy, great texture. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Too hot! One two inch jalapeño will do it. Otherwise, we liked it. But, next time we will serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good! Used mild peppers instead of jalapenos for the kids. Would be better with the heat from jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I and my family really enjoyed this recipe. I adapted it for our plant-based diet using Trader Joe's Soy Chorizo, omitting the the olive oil (water sauteed the onion and garlic), seasoning with oregano instead of thyme and stirring in fresh baby spinach. This was our first intro. to chayote and we will enjoy it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My family really liked this stew. I wouldn't normally have bought chayote but I recieved some as part of a food co-op and had no idea what to do with them! When I saw this recipe I knew it would go over well...and it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gooding, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great recipe because you can change it up so many ways. I had fresh chayote, onion, garlic, Anaheim chili pepper, tomatoes and thyme. I substituted pork chorizo and omitted the chili powder. It tastes great and costs little to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious! With just 2 of us, there was quite a bit for leftovers but this was even better when it was heated up for the 2nd and 3rd time. Very flavorful. I followed the recipe except added an extra jalapeno as we like our food spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States