Chayote Squash Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Easy, simple to make. I followed the recommendations from MNJACK8- I used lime juice instead of rice wine vinegar. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This was delicious. I left out the sugar and used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine. Paired this with artichoke stuffed flounder. Was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Pretty good. I went lighter on the vinegar, and used the suggestion from the comments of starting with half a sliced onion. This was with two chayote squash. I thought perhaps I had undercooked it a bit, but decided I like having just a bit of crunch to it after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Just made this. Love the flavors but under cooked. recooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Couch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Yum. Changed it up. Lime juice. Cumin instead of red pepper flakes...brown sugar luvs squash vs white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was my first time eating chayote and I'm so happy I tried it! So yummy! And this recipe was quick and easy. I used lime juice like some other reviewers suggested and brown sugar instead of white. It has a sweetness and the right amount of kick with the red pepper flakes. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Also used lime juice in place of vinegar - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
All we tasted was the red wine vinegar. If I try this again, I'll use lime juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Omg - this is delicious!! I made it like the others recommended subbing lime juice for the vinegar and sautéing onions with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Used other suggestions and added thinly sliced pieces of onion and just a dash of the vinegar the rest of lime. I didn't want it to taste too vinegar-y and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States