Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I had to improvise with the red crush pepper since I didn't have none and used a very small piece of Jamaican hot pepper. Still came out great and definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent! My variation: I added 1 serrano pepper including the seeds to make it hot. Also two packs of Sazon Goya seasoning for added flavor. Never had chayote before, but it was on sale and a good time to try it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe, even though I substituted butternut squash for the chayote, since I couldn't find it. Also, I pureéd the soup with an immersion blender, which made it very creamy. We liked it with diced jalapeños and Greek yogurt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This soup is a great way to serve a portion of vegetables and still keep it healthy, I never use butter I use cooking spray and the taste is still good. If you have kids this soup works amazing, they don’t have to know what they are really eating and chayotes have a lot of fiber and vitamins! The crushed pepper flakes give the soup an amazing flavor without making it spicy. We always eat it with grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Cheap, easy, healthy... And I wanted to try it? Why? I bought some chayote because I'd never seen it before. Didn't have a clue what on earth to do with them. So I did what I do, and checked out allrecipes. This recipe looked worth a try. I had everything here, enough in fact, to make a double batch. Oh, am I ever glad I did! I used the immersion blender right in the Donabe, and it came out delicious and creamy. I not only think it will be better after being in the fridge a while, I see using it in many of my recipes! It's not just a soup, this is going to help enchiladas, tacos, spaghetti sauce, pot roasts... A definite keeper! I guess cheap, easy and healthy aren't all that bad after all. :) it doesn't taste like any of the above. It tastes like a splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Excellent result and easy to prepare. The entire family loves it. I use chayote which I grow in my own garden so I simply harvest the squash and cook it! Can't be more fresh than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
very tasty and easy to make. I baked the chayotes then peeled for easier handling. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I bought chayote out of curiosity, then went about figuring out what the heck they were and how to eat them. This recipe was easy, delicious, and I had all ingredients on hand. I used veggie stock instead of chicken bullion to make it vegetarian, and added about a tsp of sage to give it some chicken-y flavor. Wish I had doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I didnt have a blender so I used a masher. Needless to say it was a bit more chunky than the recipe. I had some left over chicken and I put it in as well. I deleted the salt and used can chicken broth. Even though it was not smooth and creamy I thought it was very good. I liked this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States