Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as stated except that instead of 20 minutes of cooking, once I finished cooking the squash I threw the entire mixture plus the hot water and bouillon into my vitamix and turned it on high for five minutes. It came out perfectly! Creamy and tasty with a kick, and so few calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
If I could give this more stars, I would. I use homemade chicken stock and use more onions and chayote squashes. The flavor is excellent, plus it has a great thick texture. Outstanding. We have made this many times. One caveat, wear rubber gloves when peeling the squash. I slit them in half and peel, then use a melon baller to scoop out the seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I had to improvise with the red crush pepper since I didn't have none and used a very small piece of Jamaican hot pepper. Still came out great and definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent! My variation: I added 1 serrano pepper including the seeds to make it hot. Also two packs of Sazon Goya seasoning for added flavor. Never had chayote before, but it was on sale and a good time to try it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe, even though I substituted butternut squash for the chayote, since I couldn't find it. Also, I pureéd the soup with an immersion blender, which made it very creamy. We liked it with diced jalapeños and Greek yogurt! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This soup is a great way to serve a portion of vegetables and still keep it healthy, I never use butter I use cooking spray and the taste is still good. If you have kids this soup works amazing, they don’t have to know what they are really eating and chayotes have a lot of fiber and vitamins! The crushed pepper flakes give the soup an amazing flavor without making it spicy. We always eat it with grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Cheap, easy, healthy... And I wanted to try it? Why? I bought some chayote because I'd never seen it before. Didn't have a clue what on earth to do with them. So I did what I do, and checked out allrecipes. This recipe looked worth a try. I had everything here, enough in fact, to make a double batch. Oh, am I ever glad I did! I used the immersion blender right in the Donabe, and it came out delicious and creamy. I not only think it will be better after being in the fridge a while, I see using it in many of my recipes! It's not just a soup, this is going to help enchiladas, tacos, spaghetti sauce, pot roasts... A definite keeper! I guess cheap, easy and healthy aren't all that bad after all. :) it doesn't taste like any of the above. It tastes like a splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Excellent result and easy to prepare. The entire family loves it. I use chayote which I grow in my own garden so I simply harvest the squash and cook it! Can't be more fresh than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
very tasty and easy to make. I baked the chayotes then peeled for easier handling. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States