Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mandals
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
WOW, for 61 calories per serving this is amazing!! SO much flavor!! I *love* chayote's and was looking for new way to enjoy them! I will make this recipe for years to come!! I followed the recipe to a "T". I bet it would be good served chilled too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I can't believe how good this is. This was the first time I have used Chayote and I am in love. Seriously, it tastes like you have added so much cream to this soup. It is delicious and guilt free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was trying to figure out what to do with the Chayote's my mother-in-law gave me and I loved this recipe. Even though I like spicy foods, I will put less pepper in it next time. Love the creamy texture and the fact that it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good recipe. The soup tastes creamy and delicious! Instead of red pepper flakes, I just chopped a jalepeno instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really liked this soup. I had 2 chayotes and had no idea how to fix them when I found this recipe. The soup was creamy and delicious. I served it 2 days after I made it. The only change I made was to add 1 jalapeno pepper when cooking instead of the red pepper flakes. I served it with a sprinkling of fresh ground parmesian cheese and a couple of homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious! My only change would be to use a food processor instead of a blender. I have a really good blender, but it still came out not quite creamy enough until I put it through the food processor. It might be good with a dollop of queso fresco at the end too - I'm going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
When I made this recipe (incl 2 jalapenos mentioned above) for my parents for dinner, my mother said it was a soup fancy enough to serve at an elegant dinner party. Everyone loved how it tasted and that it was so pretty. When I ate the leftovers the next day, I put in a dollop of sour cream and it was even more divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I will now be growing these !! This was so surprisingly creamy good. I can really see this as a base for some summer chilled soups as well. So simple and just darn GOOD! Thanks I would NEVER have thought to use these like this. It's a true keeper for me! Just love it, LOW CAL TO !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great! I did add 1 tspn cumin and also 1 serrano pepper. I topped it with cojita cheese. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I finally found a way to eat chayote, very popular in Honduras. I make it without the chilli peppers and my kids can eat it, and then I add chipotle peppers in the blender for my husband and myself, I loooove it with chipotle, and the leftovers are used as sauce for quesadillas or spaguetti the next day. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States