Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Please Read! I have no food allergies, that I know of, but my hand took about 3 hours to heal after peeling these! "The flesh of chayote will remain firm if the skin is left on during cooking. You can peel chayote before or after cooking, but if you peel it before it may secrete a sticky substance that might irritate your skin. This substance disappears during cooking. To peel chayote before cooking, wear gloves or oil your hands or peel under running water."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really liked this soup. I had 2 chayotes and had no idea how to fix them when I found this recipe. The soup was creamy and delicious. I served it 2 days after I made it. The only change I made was to add 1 jalapeno pepper when cooking instead of the red pepper flakes. I served it with a sprinkling of fresh ground parmesian cheese and a couple of homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great! I did add 1 tspn cumin and also 1 serrano pepper. I topped it with cojita cheese. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by taterific
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup was good as is, but after making and tasting it I decided to enhance it to use it as a main dish. I added 1 cup cubed leftover roast beef, 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 1/2 cup sliced carrots, 1 tbsp chopped cilantro to the cooked "base" and simmered for another 30 minutes. Topped it with chopped fresh cilantro, and served it with crisp tortilla chips, orange wedges, and red grapes. I sometimes use a soup similar to that utilizes cauliflower as the "base," then add chopped ingredients to increased variety of texture and flavor. However, I am happy to know that Chayote can be used in the same way. Having read other comments, I first simmered "immersed" chayotes in water for an hour, cut them (after cooling a spell) into about 5 rings each, then easily removed the skins manuevering quickly around each ring with a paring knife (took less than 2 minutes). I used a food processor to puree the chayotes before adding them to the sauteed onion mixture and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was so delicious that I could not believe it was healthy for me. It was creamy and the cilantro makes it taste fresh. My roommate loved it as well! I took other reviewers' tips into consideration and added one jalapeno. Since I don't enjoy food that is extremely spicy, this was perfect for me. I also realized when I began cooking that I had no red pepper so I substituted in a bit of ground cayenne pepper. With this and the jalapeno there was a slight "hot" flavor after you swallowed and then it was gone; it didn't linger in my mouth. The only con is that it is a very unattractive green color so it could be hard to get picky eaters to try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Cheap, easy, healthy... And I wanted to try it? Why? I bought some chayote because I'd never seen it before. Didn't have a clue what on earth to do with them. So I did what I do, and checked out allrecipes. This recipe looked worth a try. I had everything here, enough in fact, to make a double batch. Oh, am I ever glad I did! I used the immersion blender right in the Donabe, and it came out delicious and creamy. I not only think it will be better after being in the fridge a while, I see using it in many of my recipes! It's not just a soup, this is going to help enchiladas, tacos, spaghetti sauce, pot roasts... A definite keeper! I guess cheap, easy and healthy aren't all that bad after all. :) it doesn't taste like any of the above. It tastes like a splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We don't use bouillon cubes, so I followed the recipe using chicken stock in place of the bouillon and water--this soup was delicious! I garnished with some diced avocados, and they added a nice finish to the overall taste and texture. This was a super simple lunch and I'll definitely be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicioso!!! I made this soup for the 1st time and was a hit!! I'm not a chayote fan but mom gave me homegrown chayotes from her garden. I didn't know what to do with them until I came across this recipe. I followed the recipe as written, just next time I will add only a pinch of crushed red pepper not 1/4 tsp. My mom and sons loved it. Definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Red pepper flakes are really spicy. I like a lot of heat, but this is a bit much for such a mild squash like chayote. I'm letting mine sit for a day and will add a dollop of sour cream and some crumbled queso fresco cheese for dinner tomorrow night. I'm sure that will help tame the heat too. This is a keeper!!! Note: wear gloves when peeling the chayote. It leaves a funky film that doesn't wash off right away. Weird. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The soup was very tasty. The spice kick hits afterwards and is very good. My MIL does not like spicy hot foods, so she topped her soup with a bit of mexican blend cheese and sour cream and loved it. My FIL loved the soup and took the rest home! Our total yield was 6-7 cups of soup (ingredients calculated for 4 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States