Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
When I made this recipe (incl 2 jalapenos mentioned above) for my parents for dinner, my mother said it was a soup fancy enough to serve at an elegant dinner party. Everyone loved how it tasted and that it was so pretty. When I ate the leftovers the next day, I put in a dollop of sour cream and it was even more divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious! My only change would be to use a food processor instead of a blender. I have a really good blender, but it still came out not quite creamy enough until I put it through the food processor. It might be good with a dollop of queso fresco at the end too - I'm going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
so easy and so delicious! I added extra cilantro and jalapenos since my husband and I like spicy, and it was definitely spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. The soup was very tasty. The spice kick hits afterwards and is very good. My MIL does not like spicy hot foods, so she topped her soup with a bit of mexican blend cheese and sour cream and loved it. My FIL loved the soup and took the rest home! Our total yield was 6-7 cups of soup (ingredients calculated for 4 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My first chayote recipe and it was great! I used chicken stock and 2 jalepenos. I will make this again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
we LOVED it! my husband who didn't even want to try it because he doesn't like chayote very much is now asking for a bowl of it! I made it a bit spicy with 2 jalapenos but the flavor is great. i also used white pepper which adds a nice flavor. we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good taste. Needs a bit more substance though. Maybe some meat or another vegetable. My husband doesn't like his food pureed. "I want to chew it for myself." I kind of felt this way for this soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really liked this soup. I had 2 chayotes and had no idea how to fix them when I found this recipe. The soup was creamy and delicious. I served it 2 days after I made it. The only change I made was to add 1 jalapeno pepper when cooking instead of the red pepper flakes. I served it with a sprinkling of fresh ground parmesian cheese and a couple of homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good recipe. The soup tastes creamy and delicious! Instead of red pepper flakes, I just chopped a jalepeno instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was trying to figure out what to do with the Chayote's my mother-in-law gave me and I loved this recipe. Even though I like spicy foods, I will put less pepper in it next time. Love the creamy texture and the fact that it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States