Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Please Read! I have no food allergies, that I know of, but my hand took about 3 hours to heal after peeling these! "The flesh of chayote will remain firm if the skin is left on during cooking. You can peel chayote before or after cooking, but if you peel it before it may secrete a sticky substance that might irritate your skin. This substance disappears during cooking. To peel chayote before cooking, wear gloves or oil your hands or peel under running water."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My husband and I really loved this. It has a great flavor! The cilantro in it was perfect. I also used one jalapeno instead of red pepper flakes. Next time I will not core the jalapeno so thoroughly to give it even more kick. With the one jalepeno cored it just had a hint of heat. I used an immersion blender to puree and it worked great with way easier clean up. Served with parmesan and croutons. That addition took it from really good to AMAZING!! I'd never even heard of chayote squash before I was given some last week. Now I'll be planting them in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Surprisingly good! The chili flakes add the appropriate heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was so delicious that I could not believe it was healthy for me. It was creamy and the cilantro makes it taste fresh. My roommate loved it as well! I took other reviewers' tips into consideration and added one jalapeno. Since I don't enjoy food that is extremely spicy, this was perfect for me. I also realized when I began cooking that I had no red pepper so I substituted in a bit of ground cayenne pepper. With this and the jalapeno there was a slight "hot" flavor after you swallowed and then it was gone; it didn't linger in my mouth. The only con is that it is a very unattractive green color so it could be hard to get picky eaters to try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I finally found a way to eat chayote, very popular in Honduras. I make it without the chilli peppers and my kids can eat it, and then I add chipotle peppers in the blender for my husband and myself, I loooove it with chipotle, and the leftovers are used as sauce for quesadillas or spaguetti the next day. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great! I did add 1 tspn cumin and also 1 serrano pepper. I topped it with cojita cheese. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I will now be growing these !! This was so surprisingly creamy good. I can really see this as a base for some summer chilled soups as well. So simple and just darn GOOD! Thanks I would NEVER have thought to use these like this. It's a true keeper for me! Just love it, LOW CAL TO !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
When I made this recipe (incl 2 jalapenos mentioned above) for my parents for dinner, my mother said it was a soup fancy enough to serve at an elegant dinner party. Everyone loved how it tasted and that it was so pretty. When I ate the leftovers the next day, I put in a dollop of sour cream and it was even more divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious! My only change would be to use a food processor instead of a blender. I have a really good blender, but it still came out not quite creamy enough until I put it through the food processor. It might be good with a dollop of queso fresco at the end too - I'm going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
so easy and so delicious! I added extra cilantro and jalapenos since my husband and I like spicy, and it was definitely spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States