Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I bought chayote out of curiosity, then went about figuring out what the heck they were and how to eat them. This recipe was easy, delicious, and I had all ingredients on hand. I used veggie stock instead of chicken bullion to make it vegetarian, and added about a tsp of sage to give it some chicken-y flavor. Wish I had doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I didnt have a blender so I used a masher. Needless to say it was a bit more chunky than the recipe. I had some left over chicken and I put it in as well. I deleted the salt and used can chicken broth. Even though it was not smooth and creamy I thought it was very good. I liked this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Cheap, easy, and WOW -- so good! Can make it as spicey or mild as you want. I substituted olive oil for the butter and mashed everything with a potato masher instead of running it through the blender, so mine was not a puree. Really good on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Awesome soup!! Really loved the flavor, much more complex than I had expected for the few ingredients used. Didn't have enough left to try the next day, but assume it would have been even better. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I've used this recipe over and over. I make it without cilantro and its just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This soup is delicious! I didn't have bouillon so I used chicken broth instead. It is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taterific
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup was good as is, but after making and tasting it I decided to enhance it to use it as a main dish. I added 1 cup cubed leftover roast beef, 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 1/2 cup sliced carrots, 1 tbsp chopped cilantro to the cooked "base" and simmered for another 30 minutes. Topped it with chopped fresh cilantro, and served it with crisp tortilla chips, orange wedges, and red grapes. I sometimes use a soup similar to that utilizes cauliflower as the "base," then add chopped ingredients to increased variety of texture and flavor. However, I am happy to know that Chayote can be used in the same way. Having read other comments, I first simmered "immersed" chayotes in water for an hour, cut them (after cooling a spell) into about 5 rings each, then easily removed the skins manuevering quickly around each ring with a paring knife (took less than 2 minutes). I used a food processor to puree the chayotes before adding them to the sauteed onion mixture and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicioso!!! I made this soup for the 1st time and was a hit!! I'm not a chayote fan but mom gave me homegrown chayotes from her garden. I didn't know what to do with them until I came across this recipe. I followed the recipe as written, just next time I will add only a pinch of crushed red pepper not 1/4 tsp. My mom and sons loved it. Definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We don't use bouillon cubes, so I followed the recipe using chicken stock in place of the bouillon and water--this soup was delicious! I garnished with some diced avocados, and they added a nice finish to the overall taste and texture. This was a super simple lunch and I'll definitely be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I rarely take the time to rate items unless they are remarkably good. This meets that criteria and then some. This is by far one of the easiest and best soups I have ever made! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States