Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This turned out really well and was a big hit at our Thanksgiving this year. I'd never made sweet potato casserole before or really had it, so I wasn't quite sure how it was supposed to turn out, but everyone seemed to really enjoy it. I bought raw sweet potatoes and then read the reviews about confusion about the whole mashing of the potatoes, so I wasn't really sure what to do. I decided to boil the potatoes for 20 minutes but that didn't seem to help their hardness level much. I didn't have a lot of time to be worrying about them, though, since I had a lot of things to do, so I just decided to go ahead and throw everything into the pan and put it in the oven. I then came back every now and then and tried mashing them and mixing everything together with a fork(sorry I'm not sure how long it took for them to get soft, but it did take awhile). When they were finally mash-able, I mixed everything around and then tossed the final marshmallows on top...and the final result was great! Next time I plan to just throw everything in at once to begin with because it doesn't seem that the boiling did much. I think cooking the casserole this way made it taste really good because the potatoes got to cook in the sugar and since I didn't mash them as much as I probably would have if they were soft to begin with, the final consistency was really nice with some soft chunks of potatoes mixed throughout. It will probably just take however long it takes to bake sweet potatoes normally (which I'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
the recipe does not say how to prepare the sweet potatoes and you can't mash them raw, so we put them in the blender and then they were too mushy when they came out of the oven, the taste was great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the best sweet potato casserole ever. I am asked every thanksgiving to make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Extremely rich and delicious! My husband told me he's never had sweet potatoes that he liked until he tried this recipe. I used fat free evaporated milk and cut back on the butter - still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This sweet recipe is just perfect with turkey. I leave out the coconut for my family's tastes and it is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Griggs Reuter
Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Loved it!Followed recipe exactly,thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the best Sweet Potato Casserole recipe ever! I always had a traditional recipe I used for the holidays but this recipe has it beat hands-down. I do reduce the sugar, eggs and butter to these portions: 1 cup sugar, 2 eggs and 1/2 cup butter. And I *always* use fresh baked sweet potatoes. It makes all the difference in a sweet potato casserole recipe. I typically bake about 6-7 nice sized sweet potatoes in my toaster oven on a sheet of aluminum foil at 450 degrees for 1-1/2 hours until very tender. Then I cool just enough to be able to handle to peel. The coconut is a nice and different twist that everyone I've made this for loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puddintain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great sweet potato recipe. The family enjoyed it at the Thanksgiving dinners 2 years ago and it has been add to the traditional meal. As mentioned by others I halved the sugar in the casserole and made half of it brown. The coconut and marshmellows were both a hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I always receive compliments on it, even from proclaimed yam-haters and coconut-haters. Like others mentioned, I reduce the butter and sugar (especially if I put in the marshmallows, which I sometimes leave out). Also, I always use fresh yams, though I'm never quite sure how many make up 4 cups. So I usually buy 4 large ones and that works great. Lastly, I've noticed this dish turns out best when there's no lumps in the yams, so I use a blender after mashing. Thanks for the great recipe! It's now a standard dish at Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I gave this recipe a "trial run" before Thanksgiving and took the advice of several subscribers. To simplify things, I used drained canned yams, cut the sugar in half using brown sugar instead, and cut the margarine to 1/2 cup for casserole and topping. I did not add the coconut because I didn't think I would like the texture. I baked it for 30 minutes. It was a little "loose" when it came out of the oven, but it seems to set after sitting for a little while. I refrigerated it and warmed it the next day for 30 minutes at 350. Then topped it with the topping and baked another 10 minutes. It was FANTASTIC. We have been eating the leftovers COLD and that is yummy too. I definitely will make this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States