Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was very good, but with all of the other foods at Thanksgiving, this recipe made **way** too much. Had 11 at the first Thanksgiving, and still brought 3/4 of it home. It freezes very well. Second time around I just defrosted and threw it in the oven to reheat. Still have half of it left after the 2nd Thanksgiving. Next time I will probably 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Wow! This is delicious!!! It was such a hit at Thanksgiving this year, my family and friends were so impressed! They told me this is one dish that is definitely part of our Thanksgiving tradition for years to come. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Great twist on regular sweet potatoes! This was a hit and very easy to make. I used canned potatoes instead and it was super easy. I will add more coconut and marshmallows next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My family loved this! There were only two teaspoons left and I finished them while cleaning up the dishes! I modified this a bit though. I only used one cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of butter and left out the coconut (I like coconut...my family doesn't). The topping I left the same. It was an absolutely delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Very Yummy- My Husband said we can have this again! Loved the crunch topping from the cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
WOW !!! This is more like a dessert!!! My guys who don't eat sweet potatoes, LOVE it!! Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
We had Thanksgiving here in Australia because my Husband and son are American so I thought it would be nice to have it. I served this with dinner and no-one ate it, even though I only added 1 cup of sugar it was still too sweet to eat with the main meal, so I re served it at dessert time and half was eatten. I wasn't sure what to do with the sweet potatoes so I boiled and mashed them, you couldn't even taste them, I didn't put the topping on thinking there was enough sugar in it already. I probably won't cook this again and if I did I would 1/4 the sugar and serve it as dessert. (We don't eat sweet stuff with our main meals here I always thought it was strange when my husband got sweet stuff ie: jello with his dinner at buffets, and then I noticed when I went there to Alaska they had Jello in the Buffet so it answered a few questions.), By the way I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very good, a couple variations though. First cut the sweet potatoes/yams put them in water, after three hours clean the water, that rinse a bit of the starch. Then boil them, mashed them ,put in the margarine or spread, the nutmeg, cinnamon and the 3/4 cups sugar (I used splenda). I did this the night before. When it was time to cook them added only two eggs and 3/4 cups of the evaporated milk. Skipped the coconut but used marshmallows, which I also sprinkle a few on the top cooked for 15 minutes. For the topping I didn't used flakes, but combined light brown sugar with flour, margarine or spread and chopped pecans until making a crumble topping which I cooked for another 10 or so minutes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I also agree that this recipe is not clear when using raw sweet potatoes. I steamed them first then mashed and continued on with the recipe. The only changes I made were to decrease the sugar to 1 cup and only used 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter. The topping I made as the recipe states. I will definately make this again as everyone raved about it and I thought the taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a good recipe and fairly easy to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar and it still turned out fine. Used canned sweet potatoes so I did not have to boil fresh ones. Seemed to make things easier. Cut the butter in half as others had suggested. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States