Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was too sweet for me, but everyone ate it. I had to cook it longer than the recipe stated and I left out the coconut. I had no leftovers from Thanksgiving except for this casserole, I'll look for a new recipe for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Ialso just used half the sugar but it was absolutley delicious!!!!!! A BIG HIT. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made this again for Thanksgiving and it's on the menu for life now. It's the topping that makes this so delicous! Again, I would have given it 5 stars but I did change the recipe a bit which made it even better. Here is exactly what I did. I used 2 big cans of canned sweet potatoes (drained and mashed) and 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white. Also, everywhere it called for 3/4 cup of butter I only used 1/2 cup, only 3 eggs instead of 4 and NO COCONUT. (everything else I did the same) I cooked it a little bit longer than it called for. This fits nicely in a 9x13 pan btw. Again took this to the church Thanksgiving get together and like last year it was very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have made this recipe for the last 2 years for our big family dinners. I always get the call"are you bring the sweetpotato cassarole"? Great Dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I found this recipe one year when I was in a pinch to make something new and now I have to make it every year. By request "That crunchy Sweet Potatoe Dish" It is the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've been making this recipe for about 3 years now and whenever I go anywhere, I'm always asked to bring this dish specifically. I can't even remember how many times I've forwarded this recipe on. I make just as directed and it comes out great every time. The only thing that I found over the years, is that if I make it one day ahead and let it cool overnight, then warm it up in the oven on the day of, it's consistency is perfect!! Thanks to Charline for sharing this wonderful, scrumptious delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This dish is wonderful. I made a few changes though. I used fresh sweet potatoes, chopped them into small pieces and boiled them until just tender. Then I left out the coconut completely and instead of using all white sugar, I used half brown. After reading other reviews, I also used 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter in the dish and 1 stick in the topping. It was just right, no oozing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is SO good! My sister and I fought over the sweet potato topping every Thanksgiving until we found this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was wonderful. My grandmother said it was the best Sweet Potato Casserole she has ever eaten. I used 2 cans of mashed sweet potatoes and 1 can of regular and just mashed them myself; I added a small can of crushed pineapple, I had to bake it longer than was specified but it was worth it. I made a little more topping than the recipe called for and instead of using just regular Corn Flakes, I used a cereal called Oatmeal Crisp with brown sugar. The brown sugar in the cereal flakes and bits of oatmeal crisp really made it outstanding! Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This was very yummy like a dessert. I too next time will use only half the sugar and butter that goes into the casserole. The butter was leaking out of it on the plate. Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States