Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This sounds great. I must have done something wrong, it turned out lumpy and not creamy like I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Definately a staple for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was way too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this at Thanksgiving, but substituted the sugar, including the brown variety, with Splenda so my diabetic mother could enjoy it too. It was sensational! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is the best sweet potato casserole I've ever tested - sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe is great. You do have to cut back on the eggs, sugar and milk or it will be very runny. Everything else I left the same. At every family function this is a must have from every family member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made several modifications to this recipe. I cut the sugar in half (calling for half as much sugar as there were potatoes just seemed like way too much). I replaced half the margarine with butter. I eliminated the marshmallows and coconut. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and it got rave reviews, everyone asked for the recipe afterwards! Also as others commented, there aren't really instructions for how to prep the potatoes. I used fresh sweet potatoes, peeled and boiled them until they were tender, and mashed them in a food mill before adding the rest of the ingredients. I'd give it 5 stars with my changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I was disappointed in the results of this recipe. The consistancy was too soupy even though I tried to cook it longer but then the topping started to get too dark. It didn't have a whole lot of flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I followed this recipe except left out the coconut and pecans and it came out a runny mess. As others have said the recipe is confusing. I imagine using fresh sweet potato (as I did) was a mistake and effects the recipe. I knew I was in trouble when it said to scoop the contents into a baking dish and I had to pour it. The flavors were good, but the texture was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very quick and easy to make. I took it to a large family gathering for Thanksgiving and there was still plenty left over. Next time I may halve the recipe. I don't normally like sweet potato casserole, but I did enjoy this. Perhaps because it tastes more like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States