Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was really good, but way too sweet & buttery. I halfed the recipe and 1/2'd the sugar again. I used a little less butter, would use even less next time(there will be a next time). For the topping I only had some raisin bran & frosted flakes, so I used that with 2 TBS. brown sugar and 1/4 cup butter. What a treat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was really good. Only 4 people were eating dinner that night, and more than half the pan was gone!!! The only thing I would do differently next time is decrease the margarine in the filling. I noticed it was pooling at the bottom of the pan a bit. Other than that it was FANTASTIC!!!! People who don't like sweet potatoes would even love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Too sweet, too rich, too many nuts and crunchy things. I cut the recipie down to 1/4, just in case this wasn't very good. I'm glad I did! We both ended up picking at it, and the rest went in the garbage. What a waste of sweet potatoes! I love sweet potatoes, but, this is just too much! If you like classic Thanksgiving candied yams, and mashed brown sugar sweet potatoes, you will not like this! It is far from traditional, and it makes a lot, even if you customize it to 6 servings. We will not be using this again. It's also an incredible waste of time. I now have a whole box of corn flakes that will not be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This was delicious! It was sweeter and more desert-like than the pumpkin pie that was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I omitted the coconut because I thought it might make the texture a bit weird, and substituted some of the white sugar with brown sugar. This turned out absolutely delicious and was a hit with the family. I am no longer allowed to come to Thanksgiving dinner unless I bring this dish :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Great recipe...i used canned yam's instead (toss the syrup and mash the yams) and add all the ingredients as indicated...also I added splenda to taste instead of white sugar. I also added marshmallows to the topping so they get all gooey and brown..DELICIOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilofer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I was eager to try something new for family that was visiting from far away for Thanksgiving. I tried this recipe with anticipation and delight. It was a HIT!! It was so delicious that everyone asked for the recipe.Now today half a year later i'm making it again for Easter Sunday. My lips are watering in anticipation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Great concept, but sweeter than most desserts! I'll make it again, but this time I'll add another sweet potatoe (3 total), then mash with 1/2 of all ingredients! Family loved it, but could only have a bite or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This is another great recipe. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIKOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
delicious. my 7 year old loved it, we all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States