Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a good recipe and fairly easy to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar and it still turned out fine. Used canned sweet potatoes so I did not have to boil fresh ones. Seemed to make things easier. Cut the butter in half as others had suggested. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I'm not a big sweet potato fan, but after this dish, I'll make it every Holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I've been making this casserole dish since 2000! Since we always go to a relative's house, it's what everyone always looks forward to. Even the ones who don't like sweet potatoes and coconut rave about it! The only reason I gave it four stars is because it is unclear how to mash raw potatoes and the sweetness can be a little much. I usually double the recipe and boil the potatoes until just tender before mashing them. This year we're having Thanksgiving at home, so I'm going to cut back on the sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is by far the best sweet potato casserole that I've ever had. This will be our 3rd Thanksgiving serving it....and it's become a family favorite. All of my guests want the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Even tho I had to make a few changes this is still a 5 start recipe. I looked at other reviews before making it and follow some advice. I only used 1 Cup white sugar 1/2 cup margarine in both places It turned out great. I made it for my hubbys employee Thanks Giving work lunch and none came home with him. I also used canned yams for I already had them. That was the main reason I cut back on sugar for it has sugar in them. If I would of use Fresh sweet potatoe I would of needed the extra sugar I'm sure. I did drain all juices off my canned yam before using them. Would make again for sure and thank you for sharing your recipe hun 0(*_*)0 Tonya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is the best sweet potato casserole! I love sweet potatoes and coconut so it was great! Everyone loved this recipe, even my husband who doesn't really care for sweet potatoes. I used canned sweet potatoes to cut down on time and I added more marshmallows in with the topping. This is my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal and I will definately make it every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this casserole last Christmas and it was AWESOME. I cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made this last year for our annual Thanksgiving pot luck at work and it was a hit. I have been asked to bring it again this year. Of course am I more thatn happy to do so because it is quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is the best sweet potato casserole and I consider myself a sweet potato connoisseur! My family looks forward to this dish for any occasion. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I just now actually "joined" allrecipes.com just to review this recipe, which I've used for the last 3 years! It gets RAVE reviews from the family. It is sweet, and rich but Oh So yummy, it could almost be a desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States