Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This is one of the best sweet potato casseroles I've ever had, with a few minor modifications. There is WAY too much sugar as the recipe is written. I halved the sugar and cut back on the brown sugar, and it was still *plenty* sweet. I was serving it for a first Thanksgiving in the UK, and at first each person only took about a spoonful to be polite (British people never mix 'sweet' and 'savoury' items like sugar/marshmallows and sweet potato) but by the end the whole dish had disappeared. I also put marshmallows on top instead of mixed in, to add that classic American touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This is by far the BEST recipe I've ever made!!!!! This casserole ran out before everyone got some last year. This year - I'm making double! I've found - even those who don't like coconut or peecans LOVE this recipe! Thanks for sharing it!!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I took this to my husband's Christmas party and everyone loved it. There was barely any left. I thought it was a little too sweet and will put in less sugar next time. Will definitely keep this to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN5899

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is my second year making this delicious dish for thanksgiving. My brother couldn't stop eating it. I am no longer going to wait for Thanksgiving to make this dish...no sirreee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was incredible!! I was in a time crunch so I used 2 large cans of sweet potatoes. I was worried that it wouldn't taste as good as fresh potatoes...I was wrong! What a hit! I heard "these are the best I've ever had.." more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
The first time I made this recipe, I boiled the sweet potatoes first and it was a bit too sweet and runny. So I cut back the sugar and added 2 tbs of corn starch now it is perfect.. we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
What a hit for Thanksgiving dinner! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving for my family this year and everyone loved it. Its a bit too sweet and runny. I wouldnt mix sugar in with the sweet potatoes, I would just use the sugared topping. Also I wouldnt mix in the marshmellows since they melt and you dont see them, I would sprinkle those on top. I would recommend using only 2 eggs instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This recipe is a keeper! Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner enjoyed this side dish. I did not put coconut in it when I made it because some people do not like coconut. And I did boil the cut up sweet potatoes before mixing everything together because otherwise there was no way I would be able to mash them raw. I didn't cut back on the sugar but next time I might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I have never eaten or cooked with yams before. My husband asked for sweet potatoes the way his mom used to make them and this was the closest possible recipe i could find. I cubed the potaoes and then steamed them for 20 min before putting them into the oven. The recipe said to "mash" them and that was not going to happen with them being raw. I thought I messed the whole thing up but continued on instead. I cut the butter in half but didnt change anything else. They turned out very good. My husband said they were awsome. I will be keeping this recipe for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 191-200 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States