Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Totally yummy! I couldn't get enough! My guests at Thanksgiving liked it a lot & they are usually plain ole marshmallow people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I've made this for holidays for the past several years and it always gets rave reviews. I cut the white sugar in half and eliminate the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this Sweet Potato Casserole. I make it every Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter. The only Modification that I have made is the amount of sugar in the sweet potatos themselves. I reduce it by more than half. I usually use about 3/4 of a cup. 2 cups makes it toothache sweet. and i reduce the amount period and make about 12 servings rather than 24 and i use canned sweet potatoes because, lets face it, Sweet Potatoes are hard as heck to cut up. plus it makes the whole process that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I make this each year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My family loves it and begs for it. (I reduce the amount of sugar to half a cup if I am using canned yams.) my family loves the topping so I try to make more of the crunchy topping. Made it for co-workers and they all asked for the recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I absolutely looove this recipe minus the coconut and cornflaked,its amazing!!!! Its deginitely a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm trying to find words for how incredibly, amazingly scrumptious this is. Maybe this will explain it: It's Thanksgiving evening, and this afternoon my husband literally ate himself sick on food. Now, only a few hours later, he is begging me to make another pan of these sweet potatoes, because he can't get enough! I followed other suggestions to cut down the sugar (I used about 1 cup, also I used canned yams so they were already sweet) and the butter (I used 1 stick in the casserole and 1 in the topping for a total of 1 cup.) I also followed the suggestion to make it the nght before, put it in the fridge overnight, then top it and warm it the next day. The flavor and consistency was *amazing.* Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner raved about them. This is truly a super-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipie is a MUST at Thanksgiving, the first thing to be finished every year. I boil and mash the sweet potatos instead of baking them found this to be much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several years in a row for our community Thanksgiving dinner. It disappears every year with rave reviews from those eating it! I substitute butter for the margarine (nothing better than the real thing) and reduce it to 1/2 cup in both places - still tastes amazing! I use yams instead of sweet potatoes, but that is purely personal preference. Also, if you have any vegetarians at your Thanksgiving table (this happened to me last year), all you have to do is substitute Marshmallow Fluff for the marshmallows (I used 4 tablespoons), and voila! A vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it every Thanksgiving - it's a family favorite! It is very sweet - probably more of a dessert dish for some folks but we include it with the meal instead of the desserts. I'd eat it all of the time if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love this recipe. I make it every Thanksgiving and it is always a hit. Delish! Not to mention that its gluten free so, this year my younger brothers adorable girlfriend could also eat it. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States