Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I use this recipe with a slight variation due to food allergies. I skip the coconut and pecans and instead of corn flakes use rice krispies. However, this recipe is the only reason my kids and myself will even touch sweet potatoes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Great recipe. Thanks for sharing this. The only different I did was to steam the sweet potatos first, so I could mash it easier, then cut down the first time baking from 20 minutes to 10 minutes. I don't really sweet, so next time I will reduce the sugar to about 3.4 cups. That should be plenty since the sweet potatoes are sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is the best recipe. I have to say, I don't even care for sweet potatoes and I love this. I have made it the last two holiday seasons and everyone loves it! It is now just given that I will be bringing it every year. My husband wants to know why I don't make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I think I've been invited to dinner several times, just to bring this dish! Every single person that has tried this, has LOVED it! Including all three of my picky eaters--who claim they don't like nuts or coconut. Excellent holiday recipe that none of your guests will forget! Yes, it is very sweet--that's what makes it a perfect "special occasion" dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
FABULOUS!!! Omitted the coconut. Just like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This was an outstanding recipe! I made it for Easter dinner and got rave reviews from our 4 kids and my husband, who wanted to make sure it was not labor intensive so we could have it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Yum! If you are looking for a yummy slightly different sweet potato recipe...you've found it. I usually make a similar one to this without the coconut and marshmellows. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
The coconuut & pecans were quite the hit at the "big family Thanksgiving" -- something a little different from just the plain marshmallows on top. Many of the "aunties" made good comments and wanted to know what I had thrown in there. (They do NOT like to deviate from the traditional dinners so this was a risk, but they liked it!) This dish was close enough flavor-wise to not throw people completely for a loop -- just added something a little different! THANK-YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I served this at a dinner party and everyone loved it, even my husband and he does not like sweet potatoes! I did not add the marshmallows and coconut though, but it did not seem to missing either. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States