Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
FANTASTIC!! out of necessity, i had to prepare this ahead of time, i made the sweet potato mixture and refrigerated it. i also made and refrigerated the topping mixture. when i was ready to bake the casserole, i had to break-up the topping and sprinkle it over the sweet potatoes. the result was a very crunchy topping - totally amazing!! will only use this recipe when making a sweet potato casserole. thanks diana - you hit the jackpot with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I would give this 10 stars if I could! This was fantastic! I even won my mother-in-law over with it and she brought her plain 'ol yams with marshmallows and after she tasted this yummy casserole, her yams went by the wayside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtorissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Excellent! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. The only thing I did not use was the coconut, cornflakes and nuts because my husband and kids do not like thoes items. I also misread and put the topping on before baking but it came out just fine. I will surely be making this dish again. Definately on Christmas. I may make half with pecans because I love them so much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Made with 1 cup sugar and only needed 1/2 cup milk. I debated on whether to add the coconut, went ahead and did it - my reviewers (all 12 of them) said the coconut made the recipe! I changed the topping a bit since I didn't have corn flakes - used 1/2 cup of flour instead to make a typical struesel topping. Everyone LOVED this recipe and I got many requests. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This is a new holiday tradition for our family...excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Amazing! This was my first attempt to make sweet potato casserole and it was a winner! Yes, very sweet,and to me,more along the dessert lines, but oh so tasty nonetheless! Thank you Charline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
i made this recipe last year and it was a favorite with everyone. i am making it again this year. thx so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner... everyone absolutely loved it. I left out the coconut flakes b/c I'm not a big fan of coconuts. Also omitted the corn flakes... just topped the casserole with pecans/brown sugar/butter mixture - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this recipe for a pre-thanksgiving get together at our friends house and received many compliments on it. It is a wonderful recipe; the only change I made was that I omitted the ground nutmeg and put in a little less of the white sugar. It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I started making this about 3 years ago and have had requests every holiday ever since! I don't use the coconut and I use canned yams so it comes out with no chunks of potatoes! It is great and for a non-yam eater, I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States