Charlie's Sweet Island Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Best. Brussels. Sprouts. Ever. Not bitter at all, full of flavor! I may never roast them with boring salt and olive oil again! Made the recipe as written, but reduced butter in half only because I didn't think I had 2 lb. ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
very palatable......the island theme intrigued me....what a great complementary dish for the potluck I attended. Thank you Charlie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
followed recipe exactly, and served this at a Caribbean themed party. It was very popular and no leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A great change of pace for brussel sprouts! Flavorful and slightly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
All I can say is... WOW! These were really good in my opinion. While I don't entirely dislike Brussels Sprouts as a rule, I can't say I normally make them often. This recipe could help to change that! I soaked the sprouts in salt water for 1 hour prior to cooking. For the jerk seasoning, I used a recipe from this website. I also followed the advice of another reviewer and added a little water near the end of the cooking time and then covered the pan for a bit in order to steam them and make sure they were fully cooked and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Totally ate the whole thing myself! Used a spicy curry. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Too spicy for the family and I. I made a jerk spice recipe that I also found on this site .... maybe that is what made it unbearably hot. Either way, I just wanted to give those that, like me, enjoy a spicy dish, but not so hot that you can't taste a thing, to skip this heartburn in a brussel sprout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
absolutely delicious! I served these with BBQ pork and scalloped potatoes and it was yummy. Everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Loved it! Next time a little less brown sugar and I will cook them a little longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious!!! The seasoning sounds weird to go on brussels but it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States