Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Used in tacos and in hoagie buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
big hit with the family! I only had a 2 lb roast, so I halved the seasoning. I also had to use a can of chili's, but it still turned out great. I used the meat for tacos, so I followed the footnote and cooked off the liquid in a skillet. will definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Andres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tdague
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I used a 2 pound Chuck Roast ($10). I kept ingredients to the same measure as for a 4 pound Roast. Cooked the 2 pounds for 4 hrs on high, shredded and then 1 hr on low. Put some sour cream and shredded cheddar on a flour tortilla and I was in heaven. I would not change a thing. I won't lie, it's a tad spicy alone, but put it on a tortilla with cheddar and sour cream and it's the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Was good. But needed to be tweaked. Lacking flavor. Added adobo for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I thought the flavor was a little flat. I didn't have bouillon cubes to add depth, and I had to do a lot of flavor doctoring after 2 hrs on Low post-shredding (cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, chili powder, smoky seasoning blend, taco seasoning -- I couldn't find the right flavor until finally I did, so it's not really the same recipe anymore). I'd make this again, because ultimately it was yummy, but I'd amp up the seasonings before browning as well as use beef broth instead of water, plus use greater quantities of seasonings at the start in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quintero.jenn
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This recipe was amazing. The Green Chiles really give it the Mexican flavor you seek. As other reviewers indicated, I added other spices such as paprika and Cumin for mine. I made tacos and the family devoured the meal. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
TRY THIS WITH VENISON! Touch DOWN.I made this with a venison roast, the meat was so tender. I did not have green chiles, so I chopped up a fresh red pepper, and 6 fresh jalapenos. I shredded the meat when I was done and used an immersion blender to puree the cooked veggies and broth. I had a lot of sauce, and plan on freezing it in small batches to add some kick to tomato based soups and sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Verry nice and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
The best meal i have made in a long time! My family loved it and the flavors were incredibe, i added an extra tablespoon of chili powder and cayene pepper and more water in the crockpot, it came out so tender and flavorful i didnt have to do much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We love this recipe and make it often! I always tone it down because we don't like it really spicy. It has great flavor. I have even used this concept, toned down, for ground beef tacos and they are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States