Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used a trimmed beef brisket. Skipped the browning step. Just put the meat directly into the crockpot and followed the rest of the directions. Added some cumin and a beef boullion cube, and used half the hot pepper sauce the recipe called for. Cooked on high for 6 hours, removed, shredded with two forks, and placed back in for another 2 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Made this today but used chicken and it was wonderful! Husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I added some lime juice to taste after I shredded and pulled apart and placed in warm corn tortillas with a side of either homemade mango salsa or pico de gallo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My husband doesn't like "spicy" food so I was nervous to make this recipe. But when the author of the recipe stated that you can adjust the "heat" to your liking, I took the chance. It was a big hit! I did everything as directed except for the hot stuff. I cut it down by about 2/3rds of what it should be. It had plenty of flavor and wasn't hot at all. I may try to "heat it up" a bit next time because I do enjoy my food a little spicy. Thanks for this amazing recipe!! I will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Thought it might be too spicy (I used Tabasco for the hot pepper sauce), but when we used it to make tacos it was delicious with Queso Fresco and Crema Mexicana. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Easy. Actually cooked for roughly 12 hours in crock pot. Came out extremely tender and pulled apart. Was a bit spicy for the kids, but adults loved it. Just right amount of heat. Put on top of Lime Cilantro Rice. Very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eyota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
HALF THE CYANNE AND MAKE LOTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
i will definitely do this recipe again! i adjusted with cumin and used home made chicken broth. I also added liquid to the top of sirloin. with the excess juice i will then freeze it and make it for broth for other items!! yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne cvetas
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Here is the thing with this beef. If you can take a teaspoon of your pepper sauce and eat it straight without freaking out, then add 1/2 up to the full amount called for. If you can't do this, then add between 1/2 and 1/4 and make up the difference with beef stock. I have to laugh when people claim to like spicy food then give bad ratings for being too hot. You should know how hot the dish will be by the ingredients you put in. Always taste first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kingflint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States