Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Didn't follow the recipe exactly -- used eye of round roast -- but had great success. I wasn't sure about using an entire 5oz bottle of hot sauce, but it meant that every bite was infused with flavor. My family loves spicy foods, and this was a big hit with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe 3x now. We are chili heads so I made sure that everything was hot in the spice area like hot green chili. Since it is just the two of us, I freeze a good portion of this and it freezes beautifully. I make homemade tortillas from this site and we eat a lot of this with avocado cheese and chopped up jalapeños.I did find that putting the meat back into the crockpot after shredding and cook it for another hour as some suggested adds to the flavor. If you like hotter food,Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a awesome recipe!!! My family loves it'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this one snowy day. It was wonderful. I followed advice from a couple of different people. I cut the roast into smaller hunks of meat. Lightly browned those. Then crock pot all day. Shredded meat and "browned" again on stove in skillet, didn't need extra liquid as it was already juicy enough. This made enough for 2 plus meals for our family of four. I froze leftovers and was able to use the meat to make enchiladas last night. VERY good and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fantastic!!! So easy and the flavor is outstanding. Always looking for slow cooker recipes that don't cook the flavor out of the dish and this one does not! Will be a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sad to say I was excited to try this, but after making it today, I'm disappointed. I'm not very experienced making Mexican food, but figured it couldn't be TOO hard. It calls for 1 1/4 c. green chile peppers. I wanted to be sure I got the right kind of peppers so I googled it & it turns out there are several chile peppers that are green. One reviewer used jalapenos. I learned the smaller the pepper the hotter it will be. Didn't want it TOO hot (I have smaller kids) so I bought 1 jalapeno & 1 larger green pepper that was simply labeled 'chile pepper.' The seeds & membranes inside are the hottest parts, so I threw that out. Both peppers came to 1/2cup total. Only used 1/2 the dry seasoning & onion. Used Tapatio hot pepper sauce, only 1-2 of the 5oz. Used a beef bullion cube as suggested. I figured cutting everything hot in half would drastically reduce the hotness. It was tender but, had no real flavor. After it was done I realized there was a video how to make this recipe. In it they say to use CANNED chile peppers. Maybe using fresh peppers caused this to turn out so badly? If that's the case they need to edit the ingredients & specify the green chiles are canned, NOT fresh.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa00

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I used half venison, and half beef..it was fantastic, and had an authentic Mexican taste. I bypassed the frying pan which I always do when using a slow cooker but still used the oil. I feel the meat is more tender and all of the juices from the meat make everything taste and cook better. Other than that i followed the recipe. It will be hard to make regular taco seasoning again for Mexican night at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was awesome! My husband is the meat cooker in the family, but he raved about this recipe. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alba, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used Dave's Insanity Sauce for the hot sauce it turned out a little too hot for me! Next time I will just use tabasco. I used Venison and Moose and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This tastes just like restaraunt shreded beef, SO GOOD!!! You can make tacos, encheladas, cimmies, nachos, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States