Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
When I made this recipe I left out the chili's and I added a cup of white wine and a splash of red wine to add some taste. It had a touch of Mexican flavor, but not hot (my wife does not like real spicy food). I added a little lime juice to the tacos and they were great. I also added a tablespoon of corn starch to the left over juice to thicken it up after shredding the meat. I used pork. It made for good left overrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Total waste of almost $16 worth of meat. Extremely tasteless. Now I need to figure out how to use all of the shredded beef I have left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and found the spices to be way over the top. We couldn't taste the meat...only the spices. My wife wouldn't eat it. I'll try again adjusting all of the spices downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was not only the best thing I've ever made in a slow cooker, it is the best meat I've ever made too. I used an organic chuck roast (expensive, but worth it) that was a little over 4 lbs. I followed others' suggestions and did not bother with browning the meat. I just put it in the slow cooker and seasoned it there. I used 1 Anaheim chile, 1 Serrano, and 3 or 4 jalepenos. It was a bit on the spicy side, but I served it with rice and avocado, which cooled it down a bit. Next time I may use fewer chiles. I ended up cooking it for 9 1/2 hours on high because I was out in the evening and couldn't turn it down. When I got home, it shredded like a dream--virtually falling apart. I shredded the meat right in the slow cooker and then let it simmer for about an hour in the liquid with the lid off so it reduced a bit. This let all the meat absorb the flavors from the liquid. It was absolutely amazing! Thank you Charley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I am originally from San Diego, and truly miss the beach side taco shops! I agree with adding cumin. Try a bay leaf and a sprig of oregano! Also, all peppers work, I like pablano. Same texture as a green pepper, less spice than a jalepeno but a nice flavor! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I wanted a good "go to" recipe for Mexican style shredded beef to try to break up the monotony of ground beef tacos. This was just want I was looking for. I love slow cooker meals because I plug them in when I leave for work and it's ready when I get home. I used about 2 cups of the left over gravy from the crock pot to make Mexican Rice. We made burritos with the rice and beef, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a delicious recipe that yields tender, flavorful meat. I didn't use the whole bottle of hot sauce since hubby doesn't like things too vinegary and probably used 10 dashes of Louisiana hot sauce. I also added cumin because I love the flavor of cumin. We used the meat to make quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Fantastic. I did cut the hot sauce down to 3oz but I didn't find it to hot. I probably could have got away with a little more. I did throw in 1 1/2 chipotle pepper, just because I love it. I used the leftover broth to make rice and black beans. Now there I felt a little heat. Next time I may score the meat a bot to get the spices more evenly through the meat. I also had a lot of broth and room in my crock pot, so I also threw in 3 boneless breast that made some excellent enchiladas :). I took the chicken out a lot sooner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I hate when people do this, because its hard to "rate" a recipe that I didn't make exactly. But I used this as a base. Im a teacher, and if I have time to put food on, I don't have time to mess with it. That said, I've made this multiple times and its great (my way). I have never browned the meat--turns out fine. I use a 8-12 oz jar of medium salsa instead of hot sauce, and a can of diced green chiles instead of what it calls for. Sometimes I add the seasoning, sometimes not. If I don't have pre-chopped garlic that I add, I at least add salt, pepper and garlic powder. Tastes great either way. I actually add a bell pepper into the mix, and chop it with the onion and put half of each under the roast, and the remaining half on top. Dump the chiles over that on top, and then the salsa all on top of the meat. Add a little water or stock if you're like me and this is gonna have to cook for 10-12 hours. Shred and serve, it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Family loved it! Need to plan since it takes all day to cook- but worth it! Added some smokey chipotle Tabasco sauce to give it a smokey flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States