Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this according to the recipe..except I wanted it a lil' milder so omitted the hot pepper sauce, used the juice from the diced chilis, more water, and cumin..it was just spicy enough for us. I made tacos out of it tonite...maybe we will have burritos with the leftovers. Thanx for sharing this recipe..it has great flavor and is so tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this recipe to make beef enchiladas along with Bill Echols Enchilada Sauce 1, Kraft Mexican cheese blend and flour tortillas...it was delicious! My daughter's eyes got big and she said they tasted like the local Mexican restaurant. Initially I thought this meat was too spicy, but after it rested and cooled, it was a winner! Especially after combining it with the enchilada sauce, cheese, sour cream, etc., etc., this makes seriously good shredded meat that can be used in multiple ways. I did not brown the meat like other reviewers suggested. Skipping that extra step was a happy thing. I agree with another reviewer that the hot sauce you use is key. I used Franks because I had an extra large Sam's Club bottle of it. Next time I will use Cholula Hot Sauce, Original. I got turned on to that brand a few months ago at a local seafood restaurant. I doubled the recipe and was able to freeze two 1.5 lb packages for future use. Thank you for this recipe Charley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
just put a 4.5 lb bone in pork shoulder in the crock pot. ususally skip the browning process but decided I would follow the recipe as close as I could. The only change I made was due to no green chiles. I substitued a can of adobo chile, chopped. It already smells wonderful. Planning on serving over polenta. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made this for a pot luck at my work. I followed the other review that was listed as helpful and added additional paprika and cumin. It has outstanding complex flavor. My tastes for spice are varied and I didn't think it was too spicy, the feedback I got was "too hot". I decided since I wasn't too familiar with working with chilies that I would follow instructions and use jalapenos. What I discovered was a cup and a fourth of jalapenos is a lot. =) I think next time I will probably substitute poblanos or even green bell peppers in lieu of the jalapenos. While the other two don't pack nearly the punch of heat, both are nightshades so you'd get a similar flavor profile without the 4 alarm fire. Whoever it is calling this "atomic beef" clearly doesn't eat chilies very often and has no business working with them at this level. This stuff isn't nearly as hot as the thai spicy foods I get here in town, but it ain't for sissies either. I will also try a more mild hot sauce than Tapatio, maybe Tabasco or find another mild but still tomato based hot sauce. Rotel or even just some diced stewed tomatoes might be good. I wouldn't worry about it becoming too acidic, as sometimes Tabasco can do. The richness of the chuck roast will cut the acidity easily. I would recommend serving this with some sides of sour cream and guacamole, plus maybe some cheese, tomato (or pico), lettuce, cilantro, perhaps some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shad Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Utah, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
so easy to make and incredibly versatile! Toned it down for the kiddos (3 oz or so of hot sauce, half the cayanne/chile pepper). Added mexican oregano and cumin along with paprika. Served on french rolls broiled with garlic butter, provolone and/or gouda cheese, tomatoes, avacado, lettuce and mayo. YUMMM...had a sandwich yesterday and today and loved them! But that's my limit...I don't do alot of red meat and I can feel it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is the recipe I use faithfully for my tamale filling and it makes a great enchilada filling too. It's easy. Let it cook overnight and the next morning you have meat ready to place in your masa. We use boneless chicken breast. We like to have extra sauce to pour over the tamales when we eat them so for 4 lbs of meat we double the rest of the ingredients before slow cooking. This gives us enough filling for at least 24 large tamales and left over sauce for pouring or dipping later. We make at least 4 dozen when we make them because our family and friends can't seem to get enough. Even my husband's Mexican family loves them. I do advise trying different kinds of hot pepper sauces the first few times you make it because it really affects the flavor and you may find one you enjoy more. I give this 5 stars because the flavor is deliciously spicy but doesn't create that uncomfortable lingering burn some fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Good. Didn't put requried amount of jalapenos in...should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The meat was very tender and easy to shred, but we found that it lacked flavor and kick. DH said it did not have much of a Mexican taste. Thanks for sharing but unfortunately I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! The only thing I do differently is add some fresh garlic cloves to the cooker because we really like garlic! Absolutely the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I've made this with beef and pork; both are great. I cook it in shifts; after the first 6 hours I remove & shred the meat. I strain the broth and place it in a separate container. I refrigerate both overnight, allowing the fat to separate. A small portion of meat is set-aside for grandchildren that can't handle the spiciness. The remaining meat & broth is returned to the slow cooker for a few hours or cooked in the oven until hot and the desired consistency. Great for burritos, salads, super nachos . . . wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States