Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've made this several times and tonight was the best (and my hubby thinks the same!) I threw everything into the crockpot instead of browning the beef first, so I did not use the oil. Then I added the beef w all the spices, except the cayenne pepper (we have little kids) and instead of the hot sauce used about 1/3 cup Pace medium salsa and water to cover 1/4 of the roast. Cooked in the crockpot for 8 hrs on low, then shredded it and trimmed the fat and bones off. Placed the shredded beef in a pan with the strained juices and about 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp paprika, a dash of red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. Let it simmer until the meat soaked up the juices and voila! Delicious! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I've made this recipe three times now, and it turns out perfect every time. My chuck roast was so tender and juicy! Everyone loved it at my party. I also made some cilantro/purple cabbage cole slaw to go on the tacos!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Recipe added a nice, spicy flavor to meat. Could really see this with any bland meat to add great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This roast turned out amazing, it was extremely tender and had a little spice to it. I cooked mine on low for about 10 hrs because I wasn't home to cook on high and then switch to low and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather1717

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe! I added fresh garlic. I used beef broth versus water. I used kosher salt instead of table salt, and I added a bay leaf to the pot. I also reduced the amount of hot sauce to around 3 oz. and I only gave it a dash of cayenne. Yummy with a tolerable heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Delicious! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Used in tacos and in hoagie buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
big hit with the family! I only had a 2 lb roast, so I halved the seasoning. I also had to use a can of chili's, but it still turned out great. I used the meat for tacos, so I followed the footnote and cooked off the liquid in a skillet. will definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Andres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tdague
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I used a 2 pound Chuck Roast ($10). I kept ingredients to the same measure as for a 4 pound Roast. Cooked the 2 pounds for 4 hrs on high, shredded and then 1 hr on low. Put some sour cream and shredded cheddar on a flour tortilla and I was in heaven. I would not change a thing. I won't lie, it's a tad spicy alone, but put it on a tortilla with cheddar and sour cream and it's the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Was good. But needed to be tweaked. Lacking flavor. Added adobo for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States